Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15
    Like Tree2Likes

    Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion.

    This is a discussion on Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Scubbie, no they've been telling me all along that I can get Fibre. At one stage we got as far ...

    1. #11
      Togsie's Avatar
      Togsie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion.

      Scubbie,

      no they've been telling me all along that I can get Fibre. At one stage we got as far as booking an install date but the process failed at the point where you enter your payment card details. I've had the Ofcom blurb read to me so many times now that I know it by heart. What's really annoying is that they always say that they'll look into it and call me back but they NEVER do.

      The only reason that I'm reluctant to leave Sky is that we make a LOT of phone calls to the Netherlands which are included in my call plan. I've just discovered though that you can sign up for a Skype unlimited package for 4.59 a month so with a decent broadband connection I'm thinking that might be the way to go.

      Thanks for your help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion.

      Is it a case of fibre is not available to your address or simply that Sky can't supply it? Put your post code in here and it will give you an idea -
      Postcode Checker giving Ofcom information on speeds/availability

      If BT Infinity have it available, then it is just a matter of time before it becomes availble with Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion.

      You may wish to raise you case with the Executive team as well.

      Email: jeremy.darroch at bskyb.com

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #14
      Togsie's Avatar
      Togsie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion.

      Isitme,

      Infinity is definitely available and at one stage the Sky Online checker was saying that Fibre was available too. Sky told me today that it could be 6 months before it's available from them. I cant wait 6 months and I wouldn't sign up with Sky now even if they paid ME!

      Scubbie,

      I sent an email off to a Stephen van Rooyen today who has promised a reply "very soon". I'll wait and see what he has to say.

      Thanks all.

      - - - Updated - - -
      Last edited by Togsie; 26-11-12 at 10:31 PM. Reason: Duplication.

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Openreach/Sky Fibre confusion.

      No problem. Do let us know how you get on.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION