Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky fibre and line rental question

    This is a discussion on Sky fibre and line rental question within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, is it possible to keep my line rental with BT but have Sky fibre as my internet provider?...

    1. #1
      boiler's Avatar
      boiler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky fibre and line rental question

      Hi, is it possible to keep my line rental with BT but have Sky fibre as my internet provider?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre and line rental question

      no, you have to take Sky's phone with any of their broadband products now
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    4. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      boiler (05-11-12)

    5. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre and line rental question

      I note your current IP address is a Sky IP address, so there are three possible reasons why you are asking this (thinking of getting BT's Line rental & call service or currently have this arrangement or know someone else who does).

      It used to be possible and many existing customers will have this arrangement.

      However from September 2011 Sky changed their policy to fall in line will all the other main providers and all new Sky Talk or Sky Broadband customers can only have both Sky Talk & Sky Broadband.

      In many respects I can understand how this new approach makes things simpler as a line fault which can cause Internet issues, is now the sole responsibility of one provider. Previously it could become a battle between your line provider and the broadband provider.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #4
      boiler's Avatar
      boiler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre and line rental question

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I note your current IP address is a Sky IP address, so there are three possible reasons why you are asking this (thinking of getting BT's Line rental & call service or currently have this arrangement or know someone else who does).

      It used to be possible and many existing customers will have this arrangement.

      However from September 2011 Sky changed their policy to fall in line will all the other main providers and all new Sky Talk or Sky Broadband customers can only have both Sky Talk & Sky Broadband.

      In many respects I can understand how this new approach makes things simpler as a line fault which can cause Internet issues, is now the sole responsibility of one provider. Previously it could become a battle between your line provider and the broadband provider.
      Basically from my experience Sky are not the best firm in dealing with problems, I was hoping to keep my land line with Bt so if there was a line problem BT would repair it easier and quicker in my experience, Broadband from sky is cheaper though.

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre and line rental question

      Whilst I appreciate your reasons, my own personal experience of BT India means that I would never return to them.

      As for resolving problems, both BT Retail and Sky should be getting the same service from BTO. If there is any difference then it is time to speak with Ofcom.

      Otherwise, Sky keeps coming up well in Ofcom's Customer Service reports. Thinkbroadband publishes the figures periodically, but they come from Ofcom and are available on their website.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION