Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17
    Like Tree2Likes

    Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

    This is a discussion on Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Guys/Gals, Finally got installation date of my Fibre Pro for 23rd Nov. However I've now got a bit panicky. I ...

    1. #1
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Guys/Gals,

      Finally got installation date of my Fibre Pro for 23rd Nov.

      However I've now got a bit panicky.

      I MUST be able to carry on using my own router... a Netgear 3800 running DD-WRT, its the shizzle and i have everything setup perfectly on it.

      I have been sent one of the new Sky Hubs and just found out you cant extract the username and password from it

      As I own a Sky DG834GT and a Sagem 2504 for my current ADSL connection, can I just use either username and password from one of those to login to the Fibre service ?

      I'm planning to use the instructions here to use my DD-WRt with Fibre

      If not what are my options ??? Buy a Sky Sagem fibre router off ebay maybe ????
      Failing that its over to TT I reckon


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Yes afaik
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Cheers for reply.

      Been doing abit of searching and came across this thread

      The op states
      I have just got my DD WRT router working on fibre, the details you need use must be those that are on the Fibre router use this tool to calculate them Sky Broadband Password Calculator - pH-Mb (don't use details from an adsl router only it won't work)
      Which as got me worrying.

      Anyone actually tried the Username and password from an ADSL version of the Sagem Fast on Fibre ???

      please get back to me will much appreciate it !!!

    5. #4
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Quote Originally Posted by slickric21 View Post
      Cheers for reply.

      Been doing abit of searching and came across this thread

      The op states

      Which as got me worrying.

      Anyone actually tried the Username and password from an ADSL version of the Sagem Fast on Fibre ???

      please get back to me will much appreciate it !!!
      I've tried the username/password from my v6 Sagem 2504N router on my fibre connection (using a BiPAC 8200N VDSL2 router) and it worked fine, I also tried the one from my old Sagem 2404 router and that also worked.

    6. #5
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Thanks Simon for getting back to me on this.

      I should be covered then.

      Just for safety I have just purchased a Sky Sagem 2504n V6 off ebay for a 10.

      Can someone confirm if the v6 Sagem can bu used with Fibre?
      Ideally i'd like to use that when the BTO eng comes to install as that way I dont have to open my Sky hub and I can then sell it on easier.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      If it is the 2504n then yes, but pretty sure it needs a FW update.

      The username and password should work for sure, unless it has been blacklisted.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Can someone confirm if the v6 Sagem can bu used with Fibre?
      Have a look in the WAN settings of the router, if you can choose how it connects, ADSL or Fibre, then you can use it on Fibre. If you don't have this setting it is a straight ADSL router which you will not be able to use without an update.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Thanks chaps for the info.

      Did have a search on google yesterday about updating the firmware from v6 to v7...but cant find the bloomin thread now, it was on skyuser thou and basically there was some very long instructions on how to update the firmware which may or may not work depending on your luck and it was never tested on fibre anyway.

      Unless this has changed I think i'll just use the Sky Hub for the install then and sell it on later as used (once set up own router with user & pass from the v6)

      Thanks for all your help.

    10. #9
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?

      Theres a post on here (sorry mobile or I'd post the link) where I've posted instructions on how to packets sniff the password


      Sent from my Phone using Tapatalk

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can Username & Password from ADSL+ routers be used with Fibre ?


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION