Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky router slow gui interface

    This is a discussion on Sky router slow gui interface within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyone notice how slow this can be to navigate about when you attach to it via 192.168.0.1. In my ...

    1. #1
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Sky router slow gui interface

      Does anyone notice how slow this can be to navigate about when you attach to it via 192.168.0.1.

      In my case it also refuses to show anything in the 'attached devices' section instead coming back with a timeout.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      WheelNutWalter's Avatar
      WheelNutWalter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCHEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Sky router slow gui interface

      Assuming you mean the Sagem Fast 2504, then yes, it's one of the worst modems I've ever had the misfortune to use.

      I did read a while ago (on here), that there is a firmware update propagating out to them, which improves the performance, but I haven't seen any trace of it yet.

    4. #3
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky router slow gui interface

      Yep, the GUI on the 2504 is nightmare to use, especially on Macs. It often takes several attempts just to save settings.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky router slow gui interface

      Are we talking about the 2504 or the 2504N here. The GUI was a common complaint on the 2304N. I never had any problems when using the G model, either in speed of the GUI or maintaining the settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky router slow gui interface

      It's the 2504N

      I must try and sell my DGN3500 and buy another modem. I hate it already

    7. #6
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky router slow gui interface

      Have you ever done a reset using a biro in the back of it?

      The reason i ask is after doing a reset myself, my gui went quite slow too.
      None of the settings seemed to have changed as everything was on default beforehand.
      I noticed on my ps3 though, that UPnP was all of a sudden unavailable.
      Although the UPnP box was ticked on the router page, i had to untick it, click apply then tick it & click apply again.
      I then did a normal reboot to make sure the settings had taken & sure enough, UPnP was now available & the gui was back to normal speed.

    8. #7
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky router slow gui interface

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      Have you ever done a reset using a biro in the back of it?

      The reason i ask is after doing a reset myself, my gui went quite slow too.
      None of the settings seemed to have changed as everything was on default beforehand.
      I noticed on my ps3 though, that UPnP was all of a sudden unavailable.
      Although the UPnP box was ticked on the router page, i had to untick it, click apply then tick it & click apply again.
      I then did a normal reboot to make sure the settings had taken & sure enough, UPnP was now available & the gui was back to normal speed.
      Funny you should mention that but yes I did (I reset everything trying to trace a homeplug issue). And the slowness may well correspond with that.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION