Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 34
    Like Tree3Likes

    Countdown to Fibre-Day

    This is a discussion on Countdown to Fibre-Day within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. My Fibre Unlimited is due for installation this Friday 2nd November. Is there anything I need to ensure I ...

    1. #1
      Proddy's Avatar
      Proddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01275
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Portishead
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Hi.
      My Fibre Unlimited is due for installation this Friday 2nd November.

      Is there anything I need to ensure I make best use of my new install? I hear talk of making the "slave the master" sounds good, but have no idea what that means, how do I go about it, or is it something the engineer does if I feed him quality cookies and copious amounts of tea/coffee?

      Also, I use powerlines dotted about the house for desktop PC's and make use of the existing Sky router (DG834GT) for a wireless laptop and mobile devices. Do powerline sockets work at these higher speeds? They are 200mbps, but is that good enough?

      At present I have my existing router next to the TV as I need the router to be Ethernet connected to the TV/Sky+HD and BlueRay player. As my main phone socket is some distance from the router I obviously have a phone socket extension lead from the master socket to the router, is this likely to cause a problem?

      Any other advice greatly appreciated, as 20 is pushing the boat out a bit..

      Much love
      Proddy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      First thing site the modem next to the BT phone socket. Next is to but CAT 5 cables, just bought some 15m ones for 1.35 each so no excuses. Why use powerline? just run cables, although the limit on the powerline is the speed limit but seems ok if you is happy now.

    4. #3
      Proddy's Avatar
      Proddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01275
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Portishead
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Thanks Tomthered

      1.35 for 15mtr cat5?? Where at. 15 at Homebase!

      - - - Updated - - -

      Okay, Sagem 240N router arrived. Taken a look in the box and the instruction sheet mentions a "Modem" do I need to get one, or does the engineer supply that???

    5. #4
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      the BT engineer will supply the modem.

      here is the FAQ for sky fibre. have a read through http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...dband-faq.html
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. #5
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Use this guy on eBay, it is who I'm going to be buying a few cables from. Cat5e/Cat6e ethernet cables .

      Guy is extremely cheap, you will only need a Cat5e cable to connect from the router to the Sky box.

    7. #6
      tomellifred360's Avatar
      tomellifred360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crawley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Quote Originally Posted by Proddy View Post
      Thanks Tomthered

      1.35 for 15mtr cat5?? Where at. 15 at Homebase!

      - - - Updated - - -

      Okay, Sagem 240N router arrived. Taken a look in the box and the instruction sheet mentions a "Modem" do I need to get one, or does the engineer supply that???
      Should you not have received the new SR101 router?

    8. #7
      Proddy's Avatar
      Proddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01275
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Portishead
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Quote Originally Posted by tomellifred360 View Post
      Should you not have received the new SR101 router?
      ?I was wondering the same, should I be calling them and asking to you think? Is the SAGEM not good??

    9. #8
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      I would give them a quick phonecall and make an enquiry about it. When I asked about ordering they said I'd receive the new Sky Hub.

      When did you order if you don't mind me asking?

    10. #9
      Proddy's Avatar
      Proddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01275
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Portishead
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Quote Originally Posted by itype View Post
      I would give them a quick phonecall and make an enquiry about it. When I asked about ordering they said I'd receive the new Sky Hub.

      When did you order if you don't mind me asking?
      Ordered on the 15th October. Guy on the helpline just informed me they were shipping the 101 on orders after the 18th. Not really bothered, I'm sure I wouldn't know the difference. I'm clunking along here at a max of 2.5Mbps, so I should be seeing a healthy boost in speed.... time will tell.

      Cheers

    11. #10
      tomellifred360's Avatar
      tomellifred360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crawley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Countdown to Fibre-Day

      Quote Originally Posted by Proddy View Post
      ?I was wondering the same, should I be calling them and asking to you think? Is the SAGEM not good??
      I have the Sagem for my current setup and it has never caused me any problems. Sky claims, however, that the SR101 offers the best wifi range. Some member of this forum have questioned that. I am afraid that I am the kind of person that wants the next/newest thing. As i pay Sky over 100 per month i want what they claim is the best. Bit of a character flaw I am afraid.
      But, to answer your question I would give them a call. You never get if you don't ask!

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION