Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17
    Like Tree3Likes

    New Fibre optic activated this morning.

    This is a discussion on New Fibre optic activated this morning. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok as the title reads i have had Skys Fibre optic connected this morning, all seems to be going well ...

    1. #1
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      Ok as the title reads i have had Skys Fibre optic connected this morning, all seems to be going well download speed is around 38.2 Mbs but upload is pretty poor at below 2 Mbs, i guess i am on Dlm at the moment and will my upload speed automatically adjust to 10 Mbs which is what i was quoted by sky (40 Mbs 10 Mbs)....Thanks Colin
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New Fibre optic activated this morning.-jdast_results_2012-10-26_17-10.jpg  
      Last edited by welshviking; 27-10-12 at 11:20 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      Quote Originally Posted by welshviking View Post
      Ok as the title reads i have had Skys Fibre optic connected this morning, all seems to be going well download speed is around 38.2 Mbs but upload is pretty poor at below 2 Mbs, i guess i am on Dlm at the moment and will my upload speed automatically adjust to 10 Mbs which is what i was quoted by sky (40 Mbs 2 Mbs)....Thanks Colin
      Sky alway seem to activate fibre on the 40/2 service and then switch it to 40/10 a few days later.

    4. #3
      welshviking's Avatar
      welshviking is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shotton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Connah's Quay in Flintshire
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      Sky alway seem to activate fibre on the 40/2 service and then switch it to 40/10 a few days later.
      Hopefully that will happen, thanks for the reply.

    5. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      As far as adjusting the upload speed from 2Mbps to 10Mbps, I think this normally happens within the first week or two (as Simon194 has already said) - an automated script runs at their end to do it apparently - although some people seem to get connected at 10Mbps from day 1 (so it's all a bit confusing really!)
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    6. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      It took 36 hours for my friend the other day

    7. #6
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      Welcome to the club!

    8. #7
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      A bit off topic but.......
      How do you all get the speedtest.net graphic in your signatures?
      If I can manage it I'll include the before and after (in 2 weeks) fibre stats in my signature.

    9. #8
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      When you've done a speed test there will be an option to share the result. Click this and a link will appear, copy it. Do the following on here:

      +Click the settings link at the very top of the website, on the right.
      +On the new page, there will be a section called my settings on the left, scroll down and select "edit signature".
      +On the new page, in the empty box type [img]Insert copied link here[/img]
      +Replace the text inside the [img][/img] tags with the link you copied.

      Hope this help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Racey43 View Post
      A bit off topic but.......
      How do you all get the speedtest.net graphic in your signatures?
      If I can manage it I'll include the before and after (in 2 weeks) fibre stats in my signature.
      andrewjr likes this.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to itype For This Useful Post:

      Racey43 (27-10-12)

    11. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      Quote Originally Posted by itype View Post
      When you've done a speed test there will be an option to share the result. Click this and a link will appear, copy it. Do the following on here:

      +Click the settings link at the very top of the website, on the right.
      +On the new page, there will be a section called my settings on the left, scroll down and select "edit signature".
      +On the new page, in the empty box type [img]Insert copied link here[/img]
      +Replace the text inside the [img][/img] tags with the link you copied.

      Hope this help.
      this will work. a quicker ways is after you have done the speedtest click 'share this result' a result will pop up just above it is a tab labelled 'forum' click this you will then be presented with the URL/IMG code, just click copy and then paste this into the empty box on the 'edit signature' page on here
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    12. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Racey43 (27-10-12)

    13. #10
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Fibre optic activated this morning.

      Thanks guys.

      Got it sorted now as you can see.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION