Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

    This is a discussion on replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ive plugged the eci modem back in, the huwaei seemed to run hotter....

    1. #11
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      ive plugged the eci modem back in, the huwaei seemed to run hotter.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      I found my ECI modem to run cooler to.Even though the cab is around the corner that doesnt mean the wiring runs that way!"! BTW you never said what speed you are achieving?

    4. #13
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      i sync 40mb down and 10mb up at the moment. according to the huwaei modem the max is 48mb down and 20mb up. yes the line could be taking the scenic route to the cabinet even tho its round the corner.

    5. #14
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      Good sign that but seems strange you could only attain 47 given your proximity to the CAB. If that was my speed I wouldn't complain!!

    6. #15
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      well lot better than the 1.5mbs that i was getting on sky broadband when it was at its worst.

    7. #16
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      You can buy Hacked ECI modems on that well known auction site if you don't want to try doing it yourself
      Also then you have your original unmodified one that you can put on if you get a problem

    8. #17
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      ive seen those modems would be tempted to buy one if i wasnt super skint atm.

    9. #18
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: replacing eci modem with hacked huwaei

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      I know people who had a Huawei modem on an ECI cab who ended up getting random bursts of noise and thus ending up with a lower sync speed and interleaving being applied, They replaced the Huawei with an ECI modem and DLM put them back on fastpath.
      It's happened a couple of times in the last 3 months but it usually switches back to fastpath after a week or so. The sync only dropped to around 67 Mbps on both occasions.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION