Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
    Results 71 to 77 of 77
    Like Tree6Likes

    New Sky Router

    This is a discussion on New Sky Router within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Must have a spy in the camp Had an e-mail this morning to say router on its way!...

    1. #71
      JT_Mech's Avatar
      JT_Mech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Slough
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Must have a spy in the camp Had an e-mail this morning to say router on its way!
      Scubbie likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      My only issue with this router is that the Attached Devices section doesn't show you the IP addresses of the devices connected, sort of helps me know if the IP is getting assigned.

      *Ignore this, I found it haha.
      Last edited by itype; 28-11-12 at 06:52 AM.

    4. #73
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      I was just going to say that it does

      There are 3 different pages which list the current attached devices. The first is the front page, when you type the IP Address of the router. The 2nd is at the bottom of the page when you click the Maintenance tab. The third is when you click the 'Attached Devices' link at the top of the Maintenance page. It is only the 3rd page which gives you all the information.

      http://192.168.0.1/sky_attached_devices.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #74
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Yeah, cheers. I had completely overlooked the link for some reason. It's a really nice router and I like the fact that you don't need to login to see what devices are connected. Would be nice for the router to display the name of the device given in the router for the LAN IP setup rather than the name of the device given by the device. Still, a good piece of kit, really happy with it!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I was just going to say that it does

      There are 3 different pages which list the current attached devices. The first is the front page, when you type the IP Address of the router. The 2nd is at the bottom of the page when you click the Maintenance tab. The third is when you click the 'Attached Devices' link at the top of the Maintenance page. It is only the 3rd page which gives you all the information.

      http://192.168.0.1/sky_attached_devices.html

    6. #75
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Glad you like it.

      As a primary router sent out by a UK ISP it is a nice piece of kit.

      I am still waiting for Fibre to be enabled where I live though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #76
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      It is a fairly decent router for sure. But 3 ports (loosing an additional one for Fibre connection) isnt helpful these days. Times have changed and with extra requiirements for things like on-demand then 3 isnt enough really.

    8. #77
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      There are many additional features I would have loved to see with the Sky Hub. Hopefully Sky are working hard with the next version already and they will be available with that one.

      More and more devices are getting WiFi built in, so the need for a wired connection is reducing, but personally I think that whilst convenient, this is the wrong approach for static items such as the TV, Blu-Ray and Sky STB. If you are streaming lots of HD video, this will clutter the wireless channel even more and where people are living close to other routers using the channel, this will become an issue.

      Thankfully the cost of alternatives is dropping all the time. Network Switches, HomePlugs (and PowerLine Adapters) and Ethernet cables are readily available. Their respective speeds are improving all the time as well.

      This router is the first one designed and built entirely in-house by Sky. Whilst it isn't hugely different from the Sagem 2504N in functionality, there are some important differences. These include the look and power supply. There some other things which are rumoured to be added next year (sorry, I don't have any details yet). Hopefully these will add a little more to this product.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION