Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 77
    Like Tree6Likes

    New Sky Router

    This is a discussion on New Sky Router within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky Hub Here's Sky's basis for their claims of best range. Also, does anyone think that calling these things "hubs" ...

    1. #41
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Sky Hub

      Here's Sky's basis for their claims of best range.

      Also, does anyone think that calling these things "hubs" is a complete misnomer? They're DSL/wifi routers (with a 4-port ethernet switch). A Hub is something else entirely. Just call it a frigging router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      I think if the Major ISPs conducted their own tests, their router would come out on top. To get a true picture, the tests would have to be done by an independent observer.

      It also does not take into account the lack of gigabit ethernet, which 2 of the other ISPs routers have. I can't help thinking they have missed a chance of really pulling ahead in the router stakes.
      jrfer and itype like this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #43
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think if the Major ISPs conducted their own tests, their router would come out on top. To get a true picture, the tests would have to be done by an independent observer.
      It does say the tests were conducted by an independent 3rd party, although they don't say who. And yep, they're focusing on the wifi but that's what 90% of people will be using.

    5. #44
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      That is a very nice find.

      A couple of things of interest for this test:


      1. What were the specs of the Laptop?
      2. The BT HomeHub 3 vA has a few known issues and vB is already out
      3. The product name is "Sky Hub SR101", I know that it is a router, but then what would make it a "Hub"?


      Laptop specs
      When I did a simple speed test in the same room with my own Laptop I managed to get it up to 80mb/s. I have however replaced the standard WiFi card to one which can support the fill WiFi speed of the router. Many laptops which are sold (mine included with the original adaptor) with a WiFi n adaptor only support up to 72mb/s on the Sky Hub.

      If I were to connect to a router which supports a paired channel setup, the original adaptor would have supported 150mb/s. This again is true of many new laptops for last year. I would love to know if this is still the case.

      I was under the impression that the Virgin Super Hub supports 300mb/s WiFi. If this is the case, then I would expect it to connect at 150mb/s, allowing a far better connection speed and the potential for better throughput.

      Old BT HomeHub
      I don't know if there was any performance difference between the two as I've never used either.

      Name of product
      If you want to consider a Hub as a little more than just a router, then perhaps a debate on this topic would be nice, but Sky has already named it.

      Personally I used to call a Network Switch a Hub years ago.

      The BT HomeHub has a USB port and IMHO therefore offers a little more, making it more of a central 'hub' in the network. The Virgin Super Hub, from the pics I have just looked at, doesn't have any USB ports. I'm not sure if the TalkTalk Hub does have a USB port.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      The Virgin Super hub is a dual band router, but not simultaneous, its either one or the other. Apparently the 2.4ghz band is capable of 145mbps and the 5ghz 300mbps. I believe the Virgin Hub can also be switched to 'Modem only' mode which would be very useful on the Sky Hub.

      I think Sky are just jumping on the 'Hub' bandwagon, as that's what their competitors call theirs. The uneducated may think a Hub is better than a Router, although they are one and the same. Sky cannot appear to be giving out an inferior product.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      Bazookajoe's Avatar
      Bazookajoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Bazookajoe View Post
      I have sky fibre pro being installed on the 26th October and they sent through the Sagem 2504n. Based on my experiences with the previous model and awful wireless coverage, I rang them up and insisted that they ship me the new router thats being released tomorrow to deal with my wireless issues. They are calling me back tomorrow to accomodate my request
      Well true to their word, Sky called me back this morning and arranged to send the new hub router through to me. They charged me 39 to get it through the system and then immediately credited my account with the 39 so I am happy. I just hope the fibre pro installation goes smoothly next friday.

    8. #47
      pimpinpenguin's Avatar
      pimpinpenguin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Bazookajoe View Post
      Well true to their word, Sky called me back this morning and arranged to send the new hub router through to me. They charged me 39 to get it through the system and then immediately credited my account with the 39 so I am happy. I just hope the fibre pro installation goes smoothly next friday.
      Which department did you call? I also got Fibre being installed on the 24th and was given the Sagem 2504n which is hopeless as im already using that and it's too weak. I tried calling Sky but got nowhere.

    9. #48
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Whilst there is some improvement with the Sky Hub, if you have a really poor signal, you may wish to consider piggybacking the older Sagem 2504N onto the new one instead.

      Connect the two with either a long Ethernet cable or a pair of HomePlugs.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #49
      Bazookajoe's Avatar
      Bazookajoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by pimpinpenguin View Post
      Which department did you call? I also got Fibre being installed on the 24th and was given the Sagem 2504n which is hopeless as im already using that and it's too weak. I tried calling Sky but got nowhere.
      I called customer services and they put me through the 'right department'. I assume it was Broadband sales.
      I explained the situation and that I wasn't happy with the wireless performance of their routers and that I was considering cancelling my appointment and going with Infinity instead.
      That was it really. Had an email confirmation yesterday that the new router has been shipped

    11. #50
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie;393801

      [B
      Name of product[/B]
      If you want to consider a Hub as a little more than just a router, then perhaps a debate on this topic would be nice, but Sky has already named it.

      Personally I used to call a Network Switch a Hub years ago.

      The BT HomeHub has a USB port and IMHO therefore offers a little more, making it more of a central 'hub' in the network. The Virgin Super Hub, from the pics I have just looked at, doesn't have any USB ports. I'm not sure if the TalkTalk Hub does have a USB port.
      If it was a true hub everything hitting it would be repeated out to every port... EWW!

      Defiantly not a Hub in the networking sense thankfully, I'm guessing they're meaning the "Hub" of your digital home or something simular

     

     
    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION