Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 77
    Like Tree6Likes

    New Sky Router

    This is a discussion on New Sky Router within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme It means it is locked to Sky Broadband and you only have access to a limited ...

    1. #11
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It means it is locked to Sky Broadband and you only have access to a limited number of settings.
      That's fine by me!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      The GUI is the "Graphic User Interface" that you see when you type the router's IP Address into your browser.

      Different manufacturers have different features which you can access to allow you to do extra things, such as ability to use a different DNS Server, parental controls, VPN, Wireless Extender support, Guest WiFi and many other features which can be useful for some people in the home environment.

      All the Sky routers are the same in this respect.

      Sky are aware of the 'parental controls' issue. The current official answer is to push McAfee, but this is not suitable for many people as many children have access to smart phones and tablets which cannot use the product Sky offer. Having some kind of parental control in the router is far more useful in many instances.

      Edit: lol Tom got there before me

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Racey43 (16-10-12)

    5. #13
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Hi All

      the main use here is wireless and as they are not dual band, so how can they be better than a super hub which is dual?


      John
      The sky hub blows the superhub out of the water with respect to wireless stability and range. In the week that I tested it never fell over at all. However I lost patience while trying to configure it for use on my LAN as it kept losing it's settings. After resetting it a fair number of times and coupled with it's 10/100 ports I lost interest in it and quickly piggybacked my trusty Asus RT N-16 on to it.

      The superhub has gigabit ports but doeswn't seem to have the HP to run them. Large LAN transfers can often cause it to fall over and transfer speeds compared to the RT N-16 are poor.
      The superhub is dual band but both bands cannot be used simultaneously. It's "either or status" seems pointless to me.
      The superhub's 2.4ghz/300mbps mode doesn't work as expected only 2.4ghz/144mbps mode works. 5ghz/300mbps works but the range is even poorer than 2.4ghz/144mbps.
      As for the superhub's stability, well it can drop the wireless at anytime and require a reboot before it will start again. My superhub rebooted itself seemingly on the hour, every hour. I tried it on 5ghz and although I appeared to be the only one using it locally my superhub still rebooted itself and lost the wifi sporadically.

    6. #14
      GeeWhiz's Avatar
      GeeWhiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Router

      I'm getting fibre installed tomorrow so have what's now the old router sitting in the house already out of date before its even opened!

    7. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by GeeWhiz View Post
      I'm getting fibre installed tomorrow so have what's now the old router sitting in the house already out of date before its even opened!
      Its not, the new one ain't launched until Thursday.

      To be honest the only real thing that people commend the new router on is the slightly better wireless reception, albeit in the real world that maybe a placebo effect?

      There are hardly any other breathtaking reviews of it so far.

      I have had the 2504n for 13 months and it has been solid so far.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #16
      Racey43's Avatar
      Racey43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I have had the 2504n for 13 months and it has been solid so far.
      I've had the 2504n for about 9 months and it's been rock solid.
      It's nice to have something new though

    9. #17
      Bazookajoe's Avatar
      Bazookajoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      I have sky fibre pro being installed on the 26th October and they sent through the Sagem 2504n. Based on my experiences with the previous model and awful wireless coverage, I rang them up and insisted that they ship me the new router thats being released tomorrow to deal with my wireless issues. They are calling me back tomorrow to accomodate my request

    10. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sky Router

      They are calling me back tomorrow to accomodate my request
      To be fair, the Sagem 2504n is a pretty good router. The only good thing reported about the new hub;

      1) It looks far nicer
      2) The wireless supposedly has slightly better coverage, although the cynic would say it is a placebo effect

      Only you would be able to decide which one is better once you have had chance to play with both.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Going on some of the reports the Sky Hub does offer a slightly better WiFi signal than the Sagem 2504N. However if you have a really bad problem, then the Sky Hub may not resolve it on its own.

      If you have a large home and/or thick walls, then the best advice is to configure one or both the Sagem 2504N routers to piggyback off the Sky Hub SR101. Link them together either with a Ethernet cable or HomePlugs.

      The allowed WiFi signal strength in the UK is less than that allowed in the USA and the penetration is a little worse because of it. However they have problems in places such as New York, where there are too many routers competing for very limited bandwidth.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      On every important piece of information that you may wish to know now is that several members have found that you can configure the Sagem 2504N when it isn't connected to the Internet, but for some daft reason it doesn't keep its settings. You do need to connect it to a live Internet connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #20
      puppet's Avatar
      puppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      So, saying I wanted to upgrade/change my 1 week old 2504N to one of the new SR101 Hubs, do you reckon they will be available to exisiting customers to buy online as of tomorrow?

     

     
    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION