Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity?

    This is a discussion on So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; On the presumption they want as many on the system as possible ( Bt , Sky etc), once a cabinet ...

    1. #1
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity?

      On the presumption they want as many on the system as possible (Bt, Sky etc), once a cabinet reaches full capacity, will they likely add/enable another in the same area. I could get fibre now, but likely to get 22meg max, which (all things considered) doesn't float my boat tbh, so hoping eventually another cabinet is enabled, closer to my location (and move me to it). Of course by that time, it might be all FTTP by then.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity?

      From my understanding BTO will add additional connections in some cases, but not all. I think that this depends on the kit installed and the remaining space available in the cabinet, as much as the demand in the local area.

      This should all change once FTTP is rolled out, but I can't see it changing for FTTP On Demand.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      joe pineapples (11-10-12)

    5. #3
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      From my understanding BTO will add additional connections in some cases, but not all. I think that this depends on the kit installed and the remaining space available in the cabinet, as much as the demand in the local area.

      This should all change once FTTP is rolled out, but I can't see it changing for FTTP On Demand.
      Depends on the area in some cases Openraech may add another cabinet next to the first one.

      Diary of an FTTC Install - BE Usergroup Technotes

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      joe pineapples (11-10-12)

    7. #4
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Depends on the area in some cases Openraech may add another cabinet next to the first one.

      Diary of an FTTC Install - BE Usergroup Technotes
      That would be useless from my point of view - I need one nearer to my house.

    8. #5
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: So what happens after a cabinet reaches full capacity?

      Quote Originally Posted by joe pineapples View Post
      That would be useless from my point of view - I need one nearer to my house.
      That's all they'll do though; the work required moving you to another PCP would probably be met with requests for money off you to get the job done.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION