Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Scubbie

    Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

    This is a discussion on Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered) within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just ordered the Sky fibre. A few questions: (1) Is the Sky supplied router any good (I use a DGN3500 ...

    1. #1
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      Just ordered the Sky fibre. A few questions:

      (1) Is the Sky supplied router any good (I use a DGN3500 at the moment) - it's not come yet. Does it have Wireless N

      (2) Can the Netgear DGN3500 work in its place?

      (3) I've got a ADSLNation master socket, is that an issue for the engineer.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      The Sky router has N Lite, up to 144mbps.

      You will not be able to use your Netgear unless it can be flashed with DD-WRT or other 3rd party firmware. Netgear are not interested in making their routers compatible with Sky.

      Very few have reported that the engineer left the existing filtered plate in place. If he fits a VDSL plate he will need the original faceplate. I don't know if they carry spares of these, so have yours handy, if you have it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      1. The Sagem 2504N is the main router which is currently being supplied to Sky Fibre customers. Some are being supplied the Sky Hub SR101 instead, but this is limited
      2. The Netgear DGN3500 is an ADSL router and not able to be the main router on any Fibre or Cable connection. You can piggyback this router on to the Sky router though
      3. Remove your ADSLNation filtered faceplate as the BTO Engineer will need to fit the VDSL socket. If you do actually mean the whole Master Socket, then he will likely change it for a BTO NTE5 Socket

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      Cheers for the replies. That makes it clearer.

      Shame about the DGN3500, I like it but I also like the idea of circa 40mb/s a lot more than my current 2.9mb/s

      - - - Updated - - -

      Cheers for the replies. That makes it clearer.

      Shame about the DGN3500, I like it but I also like the idea of circa 40mb/s a lot more than my current 2.9mb/s

      By the way I notice third party firmware updates for this router that unhide stuff that is locked out by Sky. Ha sanyone flashed their router with he 3d party firmware and is it benficial

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      Quote Originally Posted by heyho View Post
      By the way I notice third party firmware updates for this router that unhide stuff that is locked out by Sky. Ha sanyone flashed their router with he 3d party firmware and is it benficial
      Not for the Sagem 2304n, Sagem 2504N or Sky Hub SR101.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      JeDuK's Avatar
      JeDuK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      i had a ADSLNation faceplate fitted when bt guy turned up, and he changed it for a new one, problem is i didnt noticed untill he left, that he put it in his toolbox and ran off with it .

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      Quote Originally Posted by JeDuK View Post
      i had a ADSLNation faceplate fitted when bt guy turned up, and he changed it for a new one, problem is i didnt noticed untill he left, that he put it in his toolbox and ran off with it .
      That probably means they carry new standard faceplates to fit when required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      Quote Originally Posted by JeDuK View Post
      i had a ADSLNation faceplate fitted when bt guy turned up, and he changed it for a new one, problem is i didnt noticed untill he left, that he put it in his toolbox and ran off with it .
      You know I've just bloody realised that too!

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered it (a few questions - apologies if they are already answered)

      Whilst I am not suggesting that the BTO Engineers are doing so, there is a roaring trade for filtered faceplates on eBay.
      gymno likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION