Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26
    Like Tree4Likes

    Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

    This is a discussion on Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme It seems it does not matter who you go to. Some of the agents in Sales ...

    1. #21
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It seems it does not matter who you go to. Some of the agents in Sales have 'special' offers to offer and the same goes with Cancellations. If you are not lucky enough to get one of these, you will be out of luck.
      I'm not sure if that's true. I just kept plugging away with the regular CS reps. I got sympathy, a promise of a call back (which never happened), more sympathy but their hands are tied, out and out refusal and then finally a result. Obviously they have to consult with a manager but I certainly didn't *speak* to anyone in sales or cancellations. Obviously they could have been consulted but I wasn't aware of it.

      For want of a better place to say this I should also state that dealing with Sky has been an absolute pleasure over the last few weeks. Every single person I've spoken to has been polite and extremely helpful.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Bazookajoe's Avatar
      Bazookajoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

      I moaned about the 50 upgrade at the time that I was ordering fibre Pro. I made it quite clear that i felt the intial free offer was discriminating against existing sky customers who couldnt order at the time of launch because their cabinet weren't enabled and therefore as a loyal customer, I was unable to take advantage of their offer. I also mentioned that I had waited 5 months for Sky and resisted tempting offers from BT, TalkTalk, Plusnet and Virgin because I was loyal to Sky.

      I do spend a lot of money with Sky though....HD, Multiroom, Sports, movies, phone line, broadband and now Fibre Pro

      The agent went away for 5 minutes to speak to his manager. He said that I would have to pay the 50 as the system wouldnt bypass the one off payment process but assured me that they would credit my account afterwards.

      The next day I had an email from Sky confirming that they had credited my account.

      It all depends on who you speak to and how you put a case forward.
      itype, Scubbie and rich1068 like this.

    4. #23
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

      Great example, I'm in the same position. Have been tempted to go to Virgin for broadband and BT are also looking like an option. I plan on taking out Talk along with SUFB. Will see what happens =D, thanks.

      Quote Originally Posted by Bazookajoe View Post
      I moaned about the 50 upgrade at the time that I was ordering fibre Pro. I made it quite clear that i felt the intial free offer was discriminating against existing sky customers who couldnt order at the time of launch because their cabinet weren't enabled and therefore as a loyal customer, I was unable to take advantage of their offer. I also mentioned that I had waited 5 months for Sky and resisted tempting offers from BT, TalkTalk, Plusnet and Virgin because I was loyal to Sky.

      I do spend a lot of money with Sky though....HD, Multiroom, Sports, movies, phone line, broadband and now Fibre Pro

      The agent went away for 5 minutes to speak to his manager. He said that I would have to pay the 50 as the system wouldnt bypass the one off payment process but assured me that they would credit my account afterwards.

      The next day I had an email from Sky confirming that they had credited my account.

      It all depends on who you speak to and how you put a case forward.

    5. #24
      Kris's Avatar
      Kris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashington (NEAT)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

      I found that normal CS couldn't do much but retentions were more helpful. Basically by being knowledgeable about competitor products and how talk-talk would be cheaper (with topcashback) they offered a good deal.

      I got a discount on my telephone line rental rather than the fibre, but the net result is fibre is costing an extra 3.25 per month with no install costs. I originally posted the info on thinkbroadband.

      Fibre offers :: Sky Broadband :: think broadband

    6. #25
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

      I would stay away from virgin if i where you the network is overloaded to the max

      here is a trace to my friend now this min look at the hand over from easynet to virgin on hop 4 and 5
      its like it almost every night atm

      traceroute to 81.102.57.102 (81.102.57.102), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
      1 rapture.shonk.org (192.168.0.1) 0.325 ms 0.238 ms 0.219 ms
      2 cr1.swcuv.uk.easynet.net (87.87.224.95) 8.797 ms 8.584 ms 8.108 ms
      3 cr1.swcuv.uk.shonk.org (87.87.129.129) 4.710 ms 4.060 ms 4.579 ms
      4 ip-84-38-37-126.easynet.co.uk (84.38.37.126) 11.338 ms 11.249 ms 11.991 ms
      5 linx-gw1.router.ntli.net (195.66.224.22) 81.326 ms 78.128 ms 82.476 ms

      6 nrth-bb-1b-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.17) 83.080 ms 84.637 ms 79.786 ms
      7 brhm-bb-1a-ae3-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.185.86) 107.210 ms 90.250 ms 90.747 ms
      8 cdif-core-2a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.82) 93.870 ms 91.533 ms 90.639 ms
      9 ely0-cmts-05-gigaether-150.network.virginmedia.net (62.254.253.106) 187.038 ms 363.953 ms 114.359 ms
      10 * * *
      ^C^C


      Quote Originally Posted by itype View Post
      Great example, I'm in the same position. Have been tempted to go to Virgin for broadband and BT are also looking like an option. I plan on taking out Talk along with SUFB. Will see what happens =D, thanks.

    7. #26
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      317
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Existing Customer fibre upgrade 50 Activation charge

      I was looking at Virgin at least a year ago, I was only using them as an example and to say to Bazookajoe that I'm in the same position. I have a letter through today saying that I'd get free activation with Virgin. So I'd just use the examples as leverage, I have no intention of moving, just leverage.
      Last edited by itype; 12-10-12 at 03:16 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION