Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Pro speed

    This is a discussion on Pro speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had Fibre Pro installed just over a week ago and started off at a real world 75/11. The upload ...

    1. #1
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Pro speed

      I had Fibre Pro installed just over a week ago and started off at a real world 75/11. The upload has slowly gone up to about 16 but, as of yesterday, the down speed has reduced to 65. The BT guy was certain I'd get the max.

      Is this normal? The router hasn't rebooted since the first couple of days and the line seemed perfectly stable.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Pro speed

      It's probably DLM reducing the line to make it more stable (high errored seconds)

      When I got fibre I started at 29MB -all was stable but got reduced to 27MB

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Spitfire For This Useful Post:

      stevvi (09-10-12)

    5. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Pro speed

      There could have been some errors on the line.

      If this is the case then give it 10 days to resolve and put the speed back to where it was.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      stevvi (09-10-12)

    7. #4
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Pro speed

      When I have had reductions or ping increases i found it took 5 solid days connection (no reboots or power cycles) to be corrected.

      I would suggest at least this before calling sky.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Angel_Rex For This Useful Post:

      stevvi (09-10-12)

    9. #5
      Brutos's Avatar
      Brutos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clapton/Hackney
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Pro speed

      65meg is still a lot mate .....i was once obsessed over my speed but i just ignore it now as it is way more than i need 57 meg download for me is way more than i need
      Senior VoIP Engineer
      SSCA Certified
      Cisco R&S Certified.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION