Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19
    Like Tree1Likes

    Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

    This is a discussion on Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by simon194 Not in the cabinet but there is at the exchange. It wouldn't be the first time ...

    1. #11
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      Not in the cabinet but there is at the exchange. It wouldn't be the first time they've have forgotten to do the connection at the exchange.
      That would be either a 1 or 10Gig trunk link between the openreach network and skys LLU kit if that wasn't connected it would be rather noticeable ;-)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      That would be either a 1 or 10Gig trunk link between the openreach network and skys LLU kit if that wasn't connected it would be rather noticeable ;-)
      Not if it was connected to the BTI board, which it may be by default.

      Tip - Miss out the - in your smillies and they will work

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Not if it was connected to the BTI board, which it may be by default.

      Tip - Miss out the - in your smillies and they will work
      Sorry I don't get it

      If the 1 Gig/ 10Gig feed connecting the Openreach network to the Sky network wasn't working due to being disconnected or mis-configured it would be rather obvious on the grounds no Sky customers on that exchange would have a working FTTC service.

      I prefer ;-) to the emoticon this board has mapped to

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      If the 1 Gig/ 10Gig feed connecting the Openreach network to the Sky network wasn't working due to being disconnected or mis-configured it would be rather obvious on the grounds no Sky customers on that exchange would have a working FTTC service.
      Do you think the engineer makes the connection in the cabinet and the fibre knows it should be going into the Sky pipe with no further attention? It goes to the exchange as a 'generic' connection and there goes into a handover node. From there it goes to the various ISP's control panels. If it is tied into the wrong CP, a failure to authenticate will result. One connection could be incorrectly routed without effecting anyone else.:-p

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you think the engineer makes the connection in the cabinet and the fibre knows it should be going into the Sky pipe with no further attention? It goes to the exchange as a 'generic' connection and there goes into a handover node. From there it goes to the various ISP's control panels. If it is tied into the wrong CP, a failure to authenticate will result. One connection could be incorrectly routed without effecting anyone else.:-p
      The fibre itself doesn't know as it's just a physical transmission medium but the DSLAM/MSAN (Or whatever they're calling them this week I'm still going to call them a DSLAM for now.) will know.

      The Port on the DSLAM in the cabinet will have been configured to egress on the correct Vlan for that customer which will then route to the interconnect between Sky and BT.

      So the problem is unlikely to be a physical connection issue in the exchange as unlike the ADSL there isn't a physical cross connect at the exchange for each individual subscriber (Well technically there actually is for the phone side of things but seeing as we're talking purely the broadband here it's largely irrelevant) It could however have been a misconfiguration of either the Port in the DSLAM or any other piece of network kit in the path between the End user and the Sky network.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      It could however have been a misconfiguration of either the Port in the DSLAM or any other piece of network kit in the path between the End user and the Sky network.
      Isn't this what I said in the first place? From what I have read on the forum, some engineers are not even aware that the connection is for Sky until they get to the premises. Apparently there is/was* no indication on the work sheet as to who the ISP is. Surely it is possible the engineer set it up for BTI instead of Sky? It would not be the first time a BTO engineer made a mistake to Sky's detriment.

      * I say is/was as this may have changed now.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Isn't this what I said in the first place? From what I have read on the forum, some engineers are not even aware that the connection is for Sky until they get to the premises. Apparently there is/was* no indication on the work sheet as to who the ISP is. Surely it is possible the engineer set it up for BTI instead of Sky? It would not be the first time a BTO engineer made a mistake to Sky's detriment.

      * I say is/was as this may have changed now.

      Nope because it won't be the Openreach engineer who visits the house that does that config it will be done centrally, probably by an automated provisioning system, the Engineer to does the install will litreally be told plug this line into port X on card Y and that's probably all they're told.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      the Engineer to does the install will litreally be told plug this line into port X on card Y and that's probably all they're told.
      Now you are saying the engineer can't make a mistake and plug into the wrong port/card.

      I think we have taken up enough of this thread with what is pure conjecture, so this will be my last response.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Very disappointed with Sky fibre - No connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Now you are saying the engineer can't make a mistake and plug into the wrong port/card.

      I think we have taken up enough of this thread with what is pure conjecture, so this will be my last response.
      That could have been the case had it not been initially working fine when it was first installed but since the service was working fine for a while then stopped working it's unlikely

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION