Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 38
    Like Tree4Likes

    Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

    This is a discussion on Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by xmatelot I've just had my installation and all I had to pay was the P&P for the ...

    1. #21
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by xmatelot View Post
      I've just had my installation and all I had to pay was the P&P for the Router, been with Sky since 1996!
      As for your initial point about speed, I'm getting approx 34Mb/s Down and 9.9Mb/s up, when the BTO engineer was doing the install he showed me the results from his line checker and it reckoned I could get 73Mb/s down. I'm lucky in that I'm only about 50meters from the green box though.

      No problems so far.
      if you could get 73MB/s you would be getting 40MB/s now

      34MB/s i think is the max your line can Handle?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Thank you again for the replies.

      No call from Sky yesterday or today so I decided to ring them. Once I entered my phone number apparently my call was 'prioritised' because I had an issue and I got straight through to a CS agent. Unfortunately she couldn't find the name of who I spoke to on Sunday or any mention of the call back I'd been promised. I was also told they had no contact centre in Edinburgh. Bizarre. Anyway, I had to explain the whole thing again but they wouldn't budge. Because I had free connection in June 2011 I couldn't have free connection this time, no offers on at the moment blah blah blah. We were very friendly and the whole exchange was extremely amicable but I had to point out that I may review my decision re: fibre and possibly Sky altogether. I really didn't want that to sound ****ty but it had to be said. I should also say that I really don't want to start threatening to leave, get put through to 'retentions' and then get an offer. Existing customers shouldn't have to resort to that. Oh and I mentioned my interest in fibre before it was available and that made no difference at all.

      Unfortunately I've got a bee in my bonnet now.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      I was also told they had no contact centre in Edinburgh.
      I didn't think they had. They have one in Dunfermline and of course Livingston, which is near Edinburgh.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      She probably meant Livingston. Like you say, it's not far.

    6. #25
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
      if you could get 73MB/s you would be getting 40MB/s now

      34MB/s i think is the max your line can Handle?
      It will be down to overheads in both TCP/IP and at the DSL layer, although the Sync can be 40Mbit/s the actual download speeds will be less as some of the information transferred is stuff like routing information, checksums.etc

      After all the network needs to know where you want the traffic to go and that your packet wasn't damaged along it's route ;-)

    7. #26
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      A result. Of sorts. Not the cash back into my account (which I didn't really expect) but a reduction on my TV package that more than makes up the 50 outlay. All done without being arsey or threatening to leave or any of that malarky. It shouldn't have come to this but I'm happy with the outcome.

      And my router arrived today too

    8. #27
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Looking forward to this now. Installation should be Thursday.

      I guess fibre is no different to regular broadband in that there's a settling in period for the line?

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      There will be DLM on the line, but I believe it starts at its highest speed and comes down if necessary, unlike ADSL which starts low and works its way up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      rich1068 (01-10-12)

    11. #29
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      So the results are in...

      Good old SpeedTest



      Your very own test

      Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?-sky-user.jpg

      Router stats

      Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?-sky-router.jpg

      Very happy with the download speeds but it appears you guys may have been mistaken about the upload. Or could this be something Sky have changed recently?

      Currently using the supplied router and the BT installation was a breeze.

    12. #30
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Very happy with the download speeds but it appears you guys may have been mistaken about the upload. Or could this be something Sky have changed recently?
      In what way?

      If you mean our speed test, then we use Broadband Speedtesters engine, and their bandwidth, so should be fairly accurate.

      If you mean the upload speed in general, I was under the impression that the upload should be upto 10 meg on SFU yours is obviously set / capped at 2 meg.

      PS - Sky run a script weekly to correct the 2meg upload situation from reading on here.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION