Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 38
    Like Tree4Likes

    Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

    This is a discussion on Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The way things are at the moment I have been happy with my Sky service. There are niggly things which ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      The way things are at the moment I have been happy with my Sky service. There are niggly things which need to be looked at though.

      I appreciate that there will always be some who have a problem and each firm will have someone who hates them because of a bad experience.

      On the whole I think that their investment to date in the broadband side is excellent.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      I guess now I've got to start looking into how I can carry on using my DGN3500.
      Scubbie likes this.

    4. #13
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by rich1068 View Post
      I guess now I've got to start looking into how I can carry on using my DGN3500.
      quite easy, let it hang off the back of the sagem router. see here --> http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      rich1068 (16-09-12)

    6. #14
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Cheers Andrew. I'll have a look at that. I'm sure I could get it working (I do like the Gigabit connection on my DGN3500) but I guess the main thing is how well the wireless performs on whichever swanky new router Sky send me. It was pretty dire on the box I originally got with my vanilla broadband.

    7. #15
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Just trying to get my 50 activation/set up/whatever fee waived....

      Why should I pay that and new customers don't?

      - - - Updated - - -

      Unexpectedly disconnected from online chat...

    8. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Did you register on the Sky website when Sky fibre was first launched or even before then?

      If so, you might be able to get them to do this.

      BTO were doing an offer at the time which allowed all the ISPs to offer from connection at the time. I believe that this has expired though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #17
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      I believe I did register a long time ago but seem to recall something saying it wasn't available to me at that time.

      Makes no difference anyway. It's the principle of the thing. It's like car insurance, why do new customers get the discounts and the poor sap who stays loyal gets increased premiums. And I've had a particularly ****ty weekend so someone is going to get it

      :edit:

      Just checked my email. I got a response in May saying Fibre wasn't available to me.

    10. #18
      rich1068's Avatar
      rich1068 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky!
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      Spoken to a lovely CS rep in Edinburgh who's going to call me back tomorrow after she's spoken to her manager.
      Scubbie likes this.

    11. #19
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      i always ask for a loyalty bonus with car insurance otherwise i am off. it has worked for the last 3 years.

      anyway, with that email you should be able to get the 50 install fee waived. good luck
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    12. #20
      xmatelot's Avatar
      xmatelot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone please clarify maximum fibre speeds?

      I've just had my installation and all I had to pay was the P&P for the Router, been with Sky since 1996!
      As for your initial point about speed, I'm getting approx 34Mb/s Down and 9.9Mb/s up, when the BTO engineer was doing the install he showed me the results from his line checker and it reckoned I could get 73Mb/s down. I'm lucky in that I'm only about 50meters from the green box though.

      No problems so far.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION