Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32

    How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

    This is a discussion on How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My exchange is to be fibre capable on the 30th of this month. How soon after this date should I ...

    1. #1
      pekingprawn's Avatar
      pekingprawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Bieldside
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      My exchange is to be fibre capable on the 30th of this month. How soon after this date should I be able to order Sky Fibre?

      Once I've ordered it, how long is the lead time to actually getting up and running?

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by pekingprawn View Post
      My exchange is to be fibre capable on the 30th of this month. How soon after this date should I be able to order Sky Fibre?

      Once I've ordered it, how long is the lead time to actually getting up and running?

      Thanks in advance
      Although your exchange is due to be Fibre enabled, it all depends on when your green cabinet is due to get updated.

      Have you checked on this? You will more than likely see a new one being installed next to the old one.

    4. #3
      pekingprawn's Avatar
      pekingprawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Bieldside
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Not sure where it is or what it looks like, any idea how or where I can check?

    5. #4
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      I did it on the day my cabinet went live.

      I checked here every day.

      Openreach - Superfast fibre broadband - Where and when



      dog-man

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      If you are on SVBN and check with Sky, the checker will say you have an incompatible line. That's how stupid the software is, it can't even recognise that you have Sky rented line.

      BT Infinity is always available before Sky, they seem to get priority. With mine I can get BTI but Sky say it is not available.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      On the exact day that my exchange showed as accepting orders via the above checker, I was able to order fibre pro the same day with sky.



      dog-man

    8. #7
      supersneak's Avatar
      supersneak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by pekingprawn View Post
      Not sure where it is or what it looks like, any idea how or where I can check?
      Hi pekingprawn

      Infinity is now showing as available at Aberdeen Balgownie - although the go live date is the 30th September, BT appear to be accepting orders. Worth putting your postcode into on BT's Infinity Checker.

    9. #8
      gkay09's Avatar
      gkay09 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Hi All,

      My phone line runs off the Aberdeen, Balgownie exchange. The unit itself is located on Silverburn Place. I rung BT and they said that they would be accepting new orders for Infinity as of 01/10/12. However they have now delayed this blaming the recent bad weather

    10. #9
      supersneak's Avatar
      supersneak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by gkay09 View Post
      Hi All,

      My phone line runs off the Aberdeen, Balgownie exchange. The unit itself is located on Silverburn Place. I rung BT and they said that they would be accepting new orders for Infinity as of 01/10/12. However they have now delayed this blaming the recent bad weather
      Very strange. I had a conversation with someone from the Sky Fibre Team yesterday, and I was informed that there are no current plans for Sky Fibre at the Balgownie exchange. I then contacted BT and was able to place an order for BT Infinity with an install date of the 11th October.

    11. #10
      BooMeringue's Avatar
      BooMeringue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      My exchange was enabled a year ago, still no plans to upgrade my cabinet. :-(

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION