Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

    This is a discussion on How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by gkay09 I think something needs to be done about all BT 's lies and unfounded promises! 1st ...

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by gkay09 View Post
      I think something needs to be done about all BT's lies and unfounded promises!
      1st rule of sales: Get the sale!
      2nd rule of sales: Get the sale!

      Remember whenever you call someone who is trying to sell you something such as a telephone and broadband package that they will try almost anything to get you to buy their product over someone else's.

      If I wanted to be silly I would mention that if is always BT Retail who appear to be able to sell a Fibre product in an exchange first, so perhaps you should always go to them.

      Putting a sensible hat on I realise this is partially because BTO update the BR Retail kit and everyone else has to run around to update their's once the Fibre kit is ready in the exchanges. This might be because BTO don't let anyone update their kit and connect it to the Fibre kit before BTO is done.

      Is this anti-competitive? I will let you decide.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      supersneak's Avatar
      supersneak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by gkay09 View Post
      I just spoke with BT tonight and they confirmed the date has slipped to the 31st December as there are a lot of lines that aren't actually ready for the Fibre Broadband even if the cabinet itself is ready for the Fibre.

      I am personally raging with BT as I had a conversation with BT just 3 days ago and I was told that I could order Fibre Optic broadband as of the 1st October!

      I think something needs to be done about all BT's lies and unfounded promises!
      Hi gkay09


      My BT Infinity was installed today. Very pleased, hopefully you will be able to order soon. The Openreach engineer said that the only installs he had done on the Balgownie exchange were for BT and Talk Talk

    4. #23
      gkay09's Avatar
      gkay09 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by supersneak View Post
      Hi gkay09


      My BT Infinity was installed today. Very pleased, hopefully you will be able to order soon. The Openreach engineer said that the only installs he had done on the Balgownie exchange were for BT and Talk Talk
      Hi Supersneak,

      Glad you got your infinity as promised.

      I spoke with BT tonight and have been told they are now not covering my area and a lot of others outside the central area of BOD.

      I am absolutely fuming with this and am planning to write to complain and see what else I can do.

    5. #24
      ZeroG's Avatar
      ZeroG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSBLG
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router: Netgear DGND3700
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      I'm on the NSBLG exchange and noticed that the exchange changed from 30/09/2012 to Available in some areas the other day. Is there a way of finding out which cabinets have been upgraded, I'm in the Lee Crescent area. I'm currently with TalkTalk who provide our phone and broadband but I am looking to move away from them for the broadband at least, phone is actually in my parents name (Used to be with ADSL24 for broadband before TT took over).

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      TalkTalk who provide our phone and broadband but I am looking to move away from them for the broadband at least
      Sky will not now supply broadband only, you must also take the phone rental with ADSL and Fibre.

      Best way to find out about your cabinet is by using one of the on line Fibre checkers, try the BT Infinity one, they seem to be more accurate than the rest.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      kungfuman's Avatar
      kungfuman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSBLG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Has anyone else had better luck in getting fibre with sky on this exchange?

      I'm on NSBLG as well and BT says I can get infinity, but I want Sky Fibre as I use p2p which they cannot provide at the exchange for me at the moment.

    8. #27
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Looking at your profile, your exchange has Sky's kit, but it may need to be updated.

      Have you checked, using the BT Infinity page, whether or not you can get Fibre at all?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #28
      kungfuman's Avatar
      kungfuman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NSBLG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Looking at your profile, your exchange has Sky's kit, but it may need to be updated.

      Have you checked, using the BT Infinity page, whether or not you can get Fibre at all?

      Scubbie, yes I am able to order BT infinity now. Sky said they can see that the cabinet is fibre enabled will be available to them but dont know when. The girl over the phone just said to keep using the checker tool on the website. Just wondering generally how long does it take for it to be available to Sky one the exchange goes live?

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Sometimes days, sometimes weeks, others have reported a few months.

      Sorry, we can't really say for sure.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #30
      oxter's Avatar
      oxter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01224 - Aberdeen West Thorngrove
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How soon after Exchange is Fibre enabled can I order?

      Quote Originally Posted by pekingprawn View Post
      My exchange is to be fibre capable on the 30th of this month. How soon after this date should I be able to order Sky Fibre?

      Once I've ordered it, how long is the lead time to actually getting up and running?

      Thanks in advance
      I too am connected to West End (Thorngrove) - I live in Woodend and at present I am lucky to get 3mb download. I have my service and my line rental from Sky.

      If the exchange is upgraded can I expect to automatically get faster speeds or do I have to pay an increased subscription?

      As far as I know there is still no upgrade?

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION