Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17
    Like Tree1Likes

    Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

    This is a discussion on Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; 25MB Upload and 10MB Download ? - Don't you mean 25MB Download and 10MB Upload? EDIT - Just saw you ...

    1. #11
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      25MB Upload and 10MB Download ? - Don't you mean 25MB Download and 10MB Upload?

      EDIT - Just saw you edit


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      Have to agree with Andrew, you are looking for trouble stacking them together.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      I bought mine from amazon. quite easy to setup and install DD-WRT. just make sure that when you get to the part where you enter the startup code you put a space between the 2 lines of code on separate lines i.e

      killall.....

      /usr/...........

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...light=wr1043nd

      Andrew, other than wifi signal / speed, is there a connection benefit from the WR1043ND? As in, does it provide you with a better ping / download /upload speed than you had before?

      Cheers

    5. #14
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Andrew, other than wifi signal / speed, is there a connection benefit from the WR1043ND? As in, does it provide you with a better ping / download /upload speed than you had before?

      Cheers
      throughput has been the same, no better, no worse. my ping did however drop 2ms a week or so after using the router, not sure if its that though as i went through a few IP changes when messing around with the router.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    6. #15
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01267
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Whatever Plusnet supply
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      402
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have to agree with Andrew, you are looking for trouble stacking them together.
      Okay point taken but they stay that way for now and I'll keep an eye on the temperature etc. But that does beg another question. I can get rid of one box by buying a different router with a usb port to replace the Sky one and the Netgear. But why do I have to have the BT one as well? The BT man said it's because Sky do not have all the equipment in the exchange yet so I have to use to BT's modem to connect to their fibre system. That sounds like a bit of waffle to me but what do I know.

      Pete

    7. #16
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      With FTTC openreach supply the VDSL modem and it's managed by them.

      In theory by having an engineer installed and BT Openreach managed Active NTE it should make things easier if you get a fault for 2 reasons.

      1) Since they provide an ethernet handover anything upto and including that modem is BT's problem

      2) Since they manage the NTE they can run remote diagnostics right up to the modem so in theory it should be easier to get a fault confirmed.


      Ofcourse the theory is sound but sadly it's still part of BT and they have some pretty shocking ideas as to what counts as an acceptable level of service.

    8. #17
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01267
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Whatever Plusnet supply
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      402
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      re: Mr BT coming tomorrow to install fibre so a quick question.

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post


      Ofcourse the theory is sound but sadly it's still part of BT and they have some pretty shocking ideas as to what counts as an acceptable level of service.
      Okay that's why I have to have the BT box. Thanks for that explanation Dragon2611. I have to say re "BT's level of of service" whilst I have read of absolutely horrendous stories about their level of service I have never had a problem with BT. My line was with BT up to a short while ago when I changed it to Sky. I only changed because Sky was cheaper and it kept everything together. Mind you I haven't had many faults on my line, in fact I can't recall when I had to report a line fault and my broadband, whilst slow because I'm rural, hasn't missed a beat ever since I've had it.

      Pete

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION