Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    data extension kit

    This is a discussion on data extension kit within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm having sky fibre installed and just wondering if someone can confirm that if i ask the engineer to install ...

    1. #1
      biz1988's Avatar
      biz1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      data extension kit

      I'm having sky fibre installed and just wondering if someone can confirm that if i ask the engineer to install a data extension kit as my computer is in another room to my master socket will the data extension kit affect my speed?? I spoke to sky fibre team earlier and he said it would affect by about 30 percent as oppose to if i had my equipment plugged directly into the master socket. Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: data extension kit

      Plenty of people have had this done no issues.

      As for the loss of 30% I don't believe that is true.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      You could always ask bto engineer to move the master socket nearer the pc, depends if you get a helpful one and how many cups of tea you give him!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      I spoke to sky fibre team earlier and he said it would affect by about 30 percent as oppose to if i had my equipment plugged directly into the master socket.
      He may have been referring to the modem, the speed there may suffer if it is any distance from the master socket. You will not see any difference in ethernet which is used for the data extension..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Plenty of people have had this done no issues.

      As for the loss of 30% I don't believe that is true.
      VDSL2 is a lot more sensitive to noise than ADSL, depending on what the environment within the property is like I could quite believe these figures...

    7. #6
      therealdj's Avatar
      therealdj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR101 Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      We had a data extension, the bt engineer said it's basically moving the data bit of the master socket rather than being an extension. So shouldn't cause an issue if done correctly.
      We are on 40meg and the BT guy said it would sync at 80 if we ever wanted, :-)

      Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

    8. #7
      biz1988's Avatar
      biz1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      thanks for ur replys great help

    9. #8
      Snak3zZ's Avatar
      Snak3zZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDCAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      Also people say give the engineer a cup of tea, they never seemed to accept one from me. When I mentioned health and safety and that Sky had told me he would move the faceplate, he then went ahead and did it. He said my job was on a priority 3 and that it had to be done whatever.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: data extension kit

      Quote Originally Posted by Snak3zZ View Post
      Also people say give the engineer a cup of tea...
      Hmmm... He might have been a coffee drinker.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: data extension kit

      Quote Originally Posted by Snak3zZ View Post
      Also people say give the engineer a cup of tea, they never seemed to accept one from me.
      You need to change the type of milk you use, obviously they don't like it.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION