Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Fibre Pro

    This is a discussion on Fibre Pro within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Quick question, Im on Fibre unlimited atm, if I regrade to fibre pro do I have a cooling off period ...

    1. #1
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Fibre Pro

      Quick question, Im on Fibre unlimited atm, if I regrade to fibre pro do I have a cooling off period if I dont want to keep it? If so how long?

      Many thanks

      Rex


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Fibre Pro

      Pretty sure it is 30 days iirc
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro

      Brill. I seem to have been capped after my 12 hour fibre outage on the 25th. Apparently on the 26th BT removed the cap and while they didnt reprofile the line it should sync back up.

      If it doesnt go back up to full speed and my ping lower again, I'll "re-grade" forcing a line reprofile then maybe cancel it after 28 days if I'm not happy with the increased speed.......

      But shhhh, dont say anything^^

    5. #4
      Brutos's Avatar
      Brutos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clapton/Hackney
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre Pro

      i was told two weeks cooling off they seem to be giving out incorrect info all the time
      Senior VoIP Engineer
      SSCA Certified
      Cisco R&S Certified.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Fibre Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by Brutos View Post
      i was told two weeks cooling off they seem to be giving out incorrect info all the time
      That maybe the right info - I could have been wrong.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro

      Cheers for the info, it was as a last resort, an easy way to get the line re-profiled.

      Fortunately my speed is right back up and ping down.

      I'll save this for another day

      Very happy with the service and speed otherwise.

    8. #7
      Nobbie's Avatar
      Nobbie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro

      I'm pretty sure cooling off period is 30 days, so I was told by Fibre Team last time I spoke to them.
      Last edited by Nobbie; 05-09-12 at 03:07 PM.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro

      Check out the Fibre FAQ.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...dband-faq.html

      10. Is there a "cooling off" period?

      There will be a cooling off period. The specific details are being sought, but under UK law you will be protected by rules governing distance selling and also the connection should provide a minimum speed. If Sky is unable to get you connected at the minimum speed, then you can cancel within 3 months of being connected and under Ofcom rules you will have no penalty. You may however be expected to return the BTO Modem and Sky router.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro

      I've had fibre since May... and twice in that period I've upgraded to pro and then degraded back to normal... both were within 4 weeks of each upgrade..

    11. #10
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Fibre Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by x2srj View Post
      I've had fibre since May... and twice in that period I've upgraded to pro and then degraded back to normal... both were within 4 weeks of each upgrade..
      Its 30 days no doubt. I upgraded and then downgraded 3 weeks later. I am surprised that they let you do it twice though. The downgrade option is there so that if you dont get a decent hike in speed you can go back to the basic tariff again. You would have known this after doing it the first time.

      It was nice having 14-15 meg upload but 8 will do me fine. I only got an extra 5 meg download so it wasnt worth the extra 10 especially after the free upload upgrade.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION