Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 64
    Like Tree10Likes

    Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

    This is a discussion on Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you want to get a router that supports Guest Networks, then it should be used to control the LAN ...

    1. #51
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      If you want to get a router that supports Guest Networks, then it should be used to control the LAN as well, otherwise the Guest account won't work correctly.

      This new one from Netgear looks really interesting, but I'm not sure if there are any issues which need to be resolved first:

      WNDR4700

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      It will be interesting to see what the reviews are like when a few people get hold of one. It reminds me of the Apple Time Capsule, same idea but hopefully better at not overheating!

    4. #53
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      I noticed it the other night when a few of those involved in Netgear's beta testing were saying 'hi'.

      There are two versions planned for the launch. One which has no drive, the other has a 2TB drive pre-installed.

      With 450mb/s support on both 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels and 1Gbit LAN support, it certainly sounds nicely spec'd.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #54
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      I think that is what I am going to try first, see how it works out.

      I'll set the Sky Router to channel 1 and "G", have the word "Guest" in the SSID, and then set the TP-Link to channel 11 and "N", not that it has arrived yet. I was doing a scan last night with inSSIDer and noticed no one uses the 5ghz band near me so I think longer term I'm going to get a really decent dual band router with guest network built in to make the most of it.

      Apple Airport Extreme I think.
      Your way of thinking is pretty much my setup. I have TP link connected to the modem doing the DHCP & IP address reservation and then have the airport extreme in bridge mode handling the wireless and the shared USB printer and External HDD.

      In your case if you were to adopt this setup you would need to use the TP Link to do the guest wireless as when in bridge mode you cant activate the guest wireless on the Airport
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. #55
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      In your case if you were to adopt this setup you would need to use the TP Link to do the guest wireless as when in bridge mode you cant activate the guest wireless on the Airport
      That's very handy to know, thank you.

    7. #56
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I noticed it the other night when a few of those involved in Netgear's beta testing were saying 'hi'.

      There are two versions planned for the launch. One which has no drive, the other has a 2TB drive pre-installed.

      With 450mb/s support on both 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels and 1Gbit LAN support, it certainly sounds nicely spec'd.
      Only useful if you actually have devices that support 3 spatial streams though ;-)

      Otherwise you'll be limited to whatever the device supports.

      Most devices seem to be 2.4ghz dual stream but then a 40mhz channel in 2.4ghz is difficult due to interference so actually looking at 130Mbit/s

    8. #57
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Of course you will need to update your WiFi Adaptor if you wish to take full advantage of the new technology. There may be the odd top-end Laptop which will support 450mb/s on both 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels, but i agree that the majority won't.

      Anyone interested in such a product would need to consider if they would be able to benefit and if they are prepared to upgrade their computer hardware too.

      There are also various routers around now which work at up to 1.3Gb/s over the 5GHz WiFi. The same thing applies to the owners/users of these routers.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #58
      grotius's Avatar
      grotius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link Dir615, DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Here
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Well, I finally bit the bullet and ordered Sky Fibre. It's supposed to be installed on 20th November. BT have already written to me, informing me of how sad they are to lose me, and that I need to pay 0 in termination charges, that I should pay right away, and that, if I don't pay, they may pass my details to a credit agency, which might affect my credit rating Talk about an IT system that doesn't know how to tell who is a debtor!

      Have I made the right choice to go with Sky? As the Spanish will say, vamos a ver ...
      Grotius the Great - alias Fearless Fang.

    10. #59
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by grotius View Post
      Well, I finally bit the bullet and ordered Sky Fibre. It's supposed to be installed on 20th November. BT have already written to me, informing me of how sad they are to lose me, and that I need to pay 0 in termination charges, that I should pay right away, and that, if I don't pay, they may pass my details to a credit agency, which might affect my credit rating Talk about an IT system that doesn't know how to tell who is a debtor!

      Have I made the right choice to go with Sky? As the Spanish will say, vamos a ver ...
      Lol I'd check that because It's happened before where a telco passed a bill to a debt collection agency even though it shows $0.00 on the invoice (I think it turned out the account had $0.000001 on it or something equally stupid)

    11. #60
      grotius's Avatar
      grotius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link Dir615, DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Here
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Lol I'd check that because It's happened before where a telco passed a bill to a debt collection agency even though it shows $0.00 on the invoice (I think it turned out the account had $0.000001 on it or something equally stupid)
      We shall see ...
      Grotius the Great - alias Fearless Fang.

     

     
    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION