Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 64
    Like Tree10Likes

    Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

    This is a discussion on Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Ring 17070, if you are on Sky you will get Zoe, with BT you will get ...

    1. #41
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Ring 17070, if you are on Sky you will get Zoe, with BT you will get a BT welcome.
      I got Zoe, which is why I was confused because he said yesterday when he dialled that number (just checked it on the call log), that I was on BT. That said he did plug the new telephone cable for the Openreach Modem into my Sky router rather than the modem and then wondered why it didn't work, so I'm not sure he was BT's finest engineer!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Bit bored this morning so just in case anyone wants to know and hadn't seen them, this is the new master socket that get's installed for Fibre:

      Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!-socket.jpg

      And this is the modem:

      Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!-modem.jpg
      andrewjr likes this.

    4. #43
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      You tease...

      I want one
      stereohaven likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #44
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You tease...

      I want one
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...onnection.html

      dont re-read my thread here then
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    6. #45
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      pmsl

      Believe me, getting involved as I did earlier this year with the FAQ and other things to do with SFU I was always aware that where I live I haven't got Fibre available yet.

      It was scheduled for the end of September, but is currently scheduled for December.

      I might be lucky and have SFUP shortly after it goes live in my area, but I do know that others have had to wait a few months before they can get Sky Fibre in their area.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #46
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Just a quick update...

      Speed has been erratic over the last few days, ranging between 12Mbps and around 35Mps and Ping times have also gone up, but tend to stay below 30ms. They have not changed my profile yet so I am still 40/02.



      I am gradually moving further North apparently with Speedtest thinking I am in Preston at the moment!

      Wireless performance from the Sky Router remains pants and I really want to plug in a large desktop USB HDD I have for central storage, so I have today ordered the TP-Link TL-WR1043ND to try and give the network a cost effective performance boost and add the ability to use the HDD as it has a USB port. I don't intend to install dd-wrt at this stage, just hang it off the back of the Sagem.

    8. #47
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Me again.

      I've been thinking about the attached HDD and I don't really want other people who visit and use the Wi-Fi to have access, so I was wondering, can I leave the Sky Router Wi-Fi on but set it to "G" only and use it as a guest network so anyone that visits can access the net and then keep the TP-Link on "N" and only allow my devices to use it, therefore only they will have access to the HDD?

      Would the two routers both offering Wi-Fi when they are less than a metre apart cause interference with each other?

      EDITED

      Ignore me, yet again I have found the answer in the connecting two routers together thread!
      Last edited by stereohaven; 20-09-12 at 06:22 PM. Reason: Blind as a bat...

    9. #48
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      pmsl - At least you've found it

      Personally I would locate the 2nd router elsewhere in your home, set the WiFi identically on both routers (SSID, password & security settings) so that you can move around between them without noticing.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #49
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Alternately, give the 2 routers different wifi keys and only give the Sky one to your guests. As an extra measure you can set up the TP Wireless Access list to only allow access to your own devices, which is probably a good idea anyway.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #50
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      I think that is what I am going to try first, see how it works out.

      I'll set the Sky Router to channel 1 and "G", have the word "Guest" in the SSID, and then set the TP-Link to channel 11 and "N", not that it has arrived yet. I was doing a scan last night with inSSIDer and noticed no one uses the 5ghz band near me so I think longer term I'm going to get a really decent dual band router with guest network built in to make the most of it.

      Apple Airport Extreme I think.

     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION