Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 64
    Like Tree10Likes

    Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

    This is a discussion on Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You will get a phone call when the engineer is at the cabinet. Then you will lose your adsl service ...

    1. #31
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      You will get a phone call when the engineer is at the cabinet. Then you will lose your adsl service and he will then visit and connect the modem and run a test by dialling a number to get a recorded message saying that it is ok.

      Then the fun begins!



      dog-man
      stereohaven likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Well hello...



      And via Wi-Fi...



      I have no idea what any of this means but I like it!

      Last edited by stereohaven; 13-09-12 at 02:59 PM. Reason: Added pics...
      NewsreadeR and dog-man like this.

    4. #33
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Well what can I say?

      I've had Sky Fibre for less than 2 hours and it is so much better than ADSL, in fact, it seems to speed up every time time I do a test! This is the latest over Wi-Fi:



      I just hope that it stays this good!

      Installation was fairly simple, about 10 minutes to change the faceplate and install the modem before he popped to the cabinet, disconnected ADSL and whacked on the Fibre, then popped back to check the Sky Router had connected.

      He then run some diagnostics on a little handheld, told me there would be no issues with hitting very close to 80 MB if I ever wanted and then left.

      I seriously have to get a better router though to take advantage of this new speed!

    5. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      I just hope that it stays this good!
      I have some good news and some bad news for you in this respect.

      Bad News: Your speed will NOT stay the same.

      Even badder news: It looks like someone has messed up.













      Good news: You should be getting at nearer 10mb upload, so you may need to contact Sky if it isn't fixed tomorrow morning.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #35
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Funny you should say that, the engineer told me I was on a BT line and asked who I paid line rental too. Sky, said I, to which he said well that doesn't make sense because if you were on a Sky line, when I ring this number I would get a woman, but you have a BT dial tone.

      OK, I said, but I don't have a clue what he is talking about!

    7. #36
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Hmmm... that cold be good news for me.

      I'm on WLR3, not SVBN, and get the same on ADSL. This would indicate that they have fixed one of the issues which would have affected me.

      As for the speed, this could be because he's set you up with the wrong profile. It could be because he was provided with the wrong information though. SFU should now be a 40/10 based product.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #37
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Still looking pretty decent this morning:



      I'll give Sky a call in a mo to see if they can sort out the upload speed. How long does it take for things to update location wise because Speedtest thinks I'm in Birmingham?

    9. #38
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Just spoken to the Sky Fibre team, apparently they have all received an email this morning explaining how to sort out customers who have been set up as 40/2 by mistake, so it appears I am not alone.

      Someone technical should change my profile in the next few days apparently so I'll keep an eye on it.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to stereohaven For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (14-09-12)

    11. #39
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      Nice one and thanks for the positive update.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Sky Fibre, well, I tried!

      OK, I said, but I don't have a clue what he is talking about!
      Ring 17070, if you are on Sky you will get Zoe, with BT you will get a BT welcome.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION