Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15
    Like Tree3Likes

    Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

    This is a discussion on Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi this is what i have done Having room replastered so decided to move all wires to one hole through ...

    1. #1
      TAACHESTER's Avatar
      TAACHESTER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Hi this is what i have done

      Having room replastered so decided to move all wires to one hole through wall to make things tidy,modem and router in room wired to data extension,Turned of router and modem,Took wires out of wall socket(not master)rerun wire through new hole reconnected making sure wires in correctly and right number slots.
      But since reboot of modem and router i have lost 5mb+ off download sync speed on router,can not access modem its the eci one
      What i am wondering is because i have had wires out as this caused dlm to kick in or is it because data wire is now touching other wires in hole,It always ran near them but only ever touched sky coax cable

      Any help much appreciated thanks

      ps was 39992 now 34272


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Hi. Have you had to use a longer Rj11 cable between you master socket and modem?
      If you have, how long is it now?

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    4. #3
      TAACHESTER's Avatar
      TAACHESTER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      No everythings gone back using same wires that came with router and the ones bto engineer brought.The only difference is route of data extension wire through the wall and thats only moved 10cm down not cut any off it

    5. #4
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      What some people have found, including myself, but only slightly is, if your line has a underlying problem, or it can't quite keep your speed up to where it is, it will drop your speed when the modem has been turned off.
      If your lines stable now, DLM might increase your line speeds again.
      Keep an eye on it for a bit and see if you see an improvement.
      There is nothing you can do your self, that will bring it back up.
      Hope it gets back up to speed soon.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    6. #5
      TAACHESTER's Avatar
      TAACHESTER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Thanks for replies and i too hope it comes back up to speed not that i should complain would have loved 34mb few months back,the modem and router have been off many times before and as always returned to same speed,Wish i had done a test before to see if was running full speed then would have known if was my fault or already something wrong
      Will leave a few days and see what happens,will i need to reboot modem as i read somewhere that it changes profile itself????I remember having to reboot router when went to 40/10 even though was uploading at full speed before i rebooted it but not modem.
      Thanks

    7. #6
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Your speed will adjust automatically at your modem, so you won't have to reboot it.
      It won't show on your router until you reboot it though. If the speed has come back, it will then show your current speed.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Fryingpan77 For This Useful Post:

      TAACHESTER (23-08-12)

    9. #7
      TAACHESTER's Avatar
      TAACHESTER is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: barnsley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      Your speed will adjust automatically at your modem, so you won't have to reboot it.
      It won't show on your router until you reboot it though. If the speed has come back, it will then show your current speed.

      Sent from my ST18i
      Thanks for your replies Fryingpan77, i have to say this is the most helpfull forum i have known,no question too much trouble for someone to take time to answer.
      Anyway just to let you know speed back up to 40/10 ping slightly higher but only 5ms so not fussed.
      Speed came back today massive thunderstorm knocked out power for all area including green fibre cabinet,when resynced back at 40000 and 9992test done today shows back to same has before dont know if storm kicked dlm or was back upto speed before that

      Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire-fibre-today.jpg
      Hope stays at that done moving wires so fingers crossed.
      Thanks again to everyone on forum for helping peoples dilemmas

    10. #8
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Good news indeed, lets hope mine does this

    11. #9
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      I was slightly worried I might have screwed up the sync of my line earlier by power-cycling the modem.

      Decided to power-cycle my router/wi-fi ap's this morning in-case it was the cause of a problem (Which i now know to be external) and forgot the modem was powered from the same socket as my router.

      Whoops oh well :-/

    12. #10
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Lost 5mb+ Since Rewire

      Power cycling the modem once Shouldn't affect anything.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION