Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32
    Like Tree3Likes

    40mb or 80mb fibre?

    This is a discussion on 40mb or 80mb fibre? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Should I stick with sky's router during the dlm period before changing to my Billion? dog-man...

    1. #11
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      Should I stick with sky's router during the dlm period before changing to my Billion?



      dog-man


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      you can change it out if you like. if not and you want to 'play it safe' you could hang the billion off the back of the sky router to the 10 day period
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      Have you got your router yet? The New Sky Hubs are being issued apparently and these may be difficult to get the details from. I don't know if your old ADSL username and password will work with Fibre.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      Five working days quoted before I get the router.



      dog-man

    6. #15
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      DLM is only to the BT Modem though isn't it - should be able to do what you want behind that.

    7. #16
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      How does the router get to me?

      Royal mail?


      Does anyone know for sure if an existing username / password combination from sky adsl is the same that will be for fibre?

      I already know my adsl logon details.



      dog-man
      Last edited by dog-man; 21-08-12 at 04:49 PM.

    8. #17
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      I assume they will be different as your new sky router will have a different LAN MAC address and default wireless password
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #18
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Just ordered pro.


      I assume it is best to use sky's router during the 10 day dlm period?

      I intend using my Billion 7800N.



      dog-man
      DLM is between the DSLAM and the Openreach VDSL Modem.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      dog-man (21-08-12)

    11. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      I assume they will be different as your new sky router will have a different LAN MAC address and default wireless password
      Yes, it will be different. We know that all Sky routers have different details. We don't actually know yet whether the details are generated from the LAN MAC in the new router. It is likely, but not yet definite. The question I was raising is will the details from an ADSL router work with Fibre? Until the new router is 'cracked' the only possible way to get a username and password would be to get them from an ADSL router. If that does not work then anyone with the new router will be stuck with it, they will not be able to use their own. It would be useful if someone could try the details from their old ADSL router on their fibre connection, to prove/disprove that they work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #20
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: 40mb or 80mb fibre?

      What courier do sky use to send the router?



      dog-man...

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION