Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22
    Like Tree1Likes

    Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

    This is a discussion on Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Shonk I have 3 family members on the same exchange as me all are on the sky ...

    1. #11
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      I have 3 family members on the same exchange as me

      all are on the sky gear im on easynet

      easynet tend to do it via dns
      sky do it another way

      speed tests can sometimes give huge benchmarks on the sky gear
      but never do it on easynet

      I was with virgin from 1999 with broadband and know all about the inktomi cache servers
      they where junk and overloaded they still do it now but with different cache servers

      How ever sky do it
      it runs well and runs just as well as my connection which isnt cached
      The reason I asked is that I know for certain that the NTL/Telewest business of Virgin Media does not use any proxy caches; on either the former NTL or former TW networks - which have mostly now been merged into one. (TV pretty much has with the Tivo launch).

      I'd be VERY surprised if Sky used them. They break too much of the internet and would cause massive support headaches.

      That's why I asked.

      Oh, I expect there isn't any different network, SVBN and Easynet is just down to the DSLAM (easynet) or MSAN (SVBN) that you are on at the exchange. The old Easynet DSLAMs don't support voice, so they're currently only for legacy customers on the broadband only service (which now costs 5/m more). I can see Sky replacing them when the vendor support expires. (As BT is doing now for the original 8meg DSLAMs on their network).
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      the whole core network for easynet is different
      the sky dslam's route onto it once in a while but its a totally different backbone

    4. #13
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      speedtest.net is very accurate if you arnt running through a cache server
      *.sky.com ip's all run through a cache server hence why some users on say 16meg get a 40meg benchmark once in a while
      due to the cache server being benchmarked

      *.easynet.net ip's dont run through a cache server my speedtest's are bang on

      so i presume it will be the same with vdsl everyone will be running through a cache server for http
      Actually the thing I find most often causes false readings on Speedtest.net are certain antivirus programs that intercept HTTP traffic so that they can scan the content for malware before letting your browser display it.

      Kaspserky always used to be a good one for that, no Idea if it still is a problem

    5. #14
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      the whole core network for easynet is different
      the sky dslam's route onto it once in a while but its a totally different backbone
      If sky was building their own separate network why did they buy easynet? Why run two?

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Actually the thing I find most often causes false readings on Speedtest.net are certain antivirus programs that intercept HTTP traffic so that they can scan the content for malware before letting your browser display it.
      Yep, seen that too, friend with 10meg virgin cable thought he was getting 30meg!
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    6. #15
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      Speedtest.net is rubbish. End of.

      Try doing some "real tests"

      Try downloading : - Download me!

      Often get 7.1MB/s down this and I've got 62Mb internet (ish)

    7. #16
      Brutos's Avatar
      Brutos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clapton/Hackney
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      try downloading a 1GB file from a sever with 1-5Ggibit link and you will see your true speed.
      gorebrush likes this.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      the sky dslam's route onto it once in a while but its a totally different backbone
      I think you will find that all Sky lines go onto the Easynet network. eg this is my trace on a SVBN connection=
      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
      Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

      C:\Windows\system32>tracert bbc.co.uk

      Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.241.131]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 * * * Request timed out.
      3 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms ip-84-38-37-28.easynet.co.uk [84.38.37.28]
      4 35 ms 35 ms 35 ms ip-84-38-37-144.easynet.co.uk [84.38.37.144]
      5 33 ms 32 ms 33 ms ntl-ge2-9.prt0.rbsov.bbc.co.uk [212.58.238.189]

      6 * * * Request timed out.
      7 32 ms 33 ms 33 ms ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.46]
      8 33 ms 35 ms 34 ms 132.185.255.60
      9 33 ms 33 ms 32 ms 212.58.241.131

      Trace complete.
      I believe Sky originally bought Easynet to give them quick access to a large number of exchanges which had been 'LLUd' and a large network backbone. Subsequently they sold the network infrastructure back to Easynet and retained the rights to the exchange equipment. Easynet manage and maintain the network with Sky as their biggest customer. They are gradually replacing the old Easynet exchange equipment with their own. Eventually all exchanges will be fully equipped with Sky 's equipment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Knightlore's Avatar
      Knightlore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      Back on topic a bit, Still not really answered my question as to why the router is at nearly 80meg but im only getting rubbish wireless and also only 60 meg on ethernet. I would expect some throughput loss but these figures are ridiculous. On my vm n router I had no loss of through put

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      You seem to be in the same boat as those who are only getting about half their sync speed, about which there are very long threads, both here and on the Official forum. . Have you tried a speed test here - Test Result

      With regards your wireless, although the router may say it is pushing 144mbps, this is in theory only, actual connection speed will be around 60% of that. Knock of a bit for encryption and internet overheads and the speed comes right down. To get anywhere near the full advantage of a 80/20 internet connection you would need a router capable of 300 mbps and adapters to match.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Router Says 79999kb/s Speed test 40mb/s help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I believe Sky originally bought Easynet to give them quick access to a large number of exchanges which had been 'LLUd' and a large network backbone. Subsequently they sold the network infrastructure back to Easynet and retained the rights to the exchange equipment. Easynet manage and maintain the network with Sky as their biggest customer. They are gradually replacing the old Easynet exchange equipment with their own. Eventually all exchanges will be fully equipped with Sky 's equipment.
      I read that Sky own all the network and exchange kit, and sold the Easynet brand and the sales team to sell business network services; they then sold that team the rights to pass traffic over the Sky network - basically another income stream for Sky's network division.
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION