Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Just ordered Pro!

    This is a discussion on Just ordered Pro! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Today I was checking the BT checker as I do daily and the message had changed! So I phoned Sky ...

    1. #1
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Just ordered Pro!

      Today I was checking the BT checker as I do daily and the message had changed! So I phoned Sky and was able to order SBUF Pro, engineer coming to install on 4th Sept.

      I then asked my existing ISP (BE) for MAC and cancellation to start, which will cancel on the 16th Sept. My phone is BT and that will transfer on the 4th to Sky.

      I've not been asked for my MAC code, do Sky not use these as they're taking over the whole line then?

      (also where do I set a signature for these posts?)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brutos's Avatar
      Brutos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clapton/Hackney
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      your correct sky doesnt need a MAC code is just switched to sky on the 15th yesterday and i am so happy...from o2..will get pro unlimited soon when i build my new NAS box...you wont be disappointed mate.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Brutos For This Useful Post:

      rederick (16-08-12)

    5. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      Quote Originally Posted by rederick View Post
      (also where do I set a signature for these posts?)
      In your profile options.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/profi...=editsignature
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #4
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      Thank you! I was looking in profile not settings (d'oh!).
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    7. #5
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      Do you think you will get faster than the speed estimate they have given you or is there another reason you have chosen Pro over standard Fibre?

      Reason I ask is because I'm not sure I would pay an extra 10 a month for only 4 or 5 meg more speed than the standard product offers, but I appreciate you may well have very different needs to me.

    8. #6
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      I get 65Mb whereas my estimate is only 52... However YMMV

    9. #7
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      I got estimated 65 and actually get 80, so as people have said YMMV

    10. #8
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      Nope, no idea what "YMMV" is supposed to mean, care to elaborate?

    11. #9
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      Nope, no idea what "YMMV" is supposed to mean, care to elaborate?
      Your Mileage May Vary

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Fryingpan77 For This Useful Post:

      stereohaven (17-08-12)

    13. #10
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Pro!

      Quote Originally Posted by stereohaven View Post
      Do you think you will get faster than the speed estimate they have given you or is there another reason you have chosen Pro over standard Fibre?

      Reason I ask is because I'm not sure I would pay an extra 10 a month for only 4 or 5 meg more speed than the standard product offers, but I appreciate you may well have very different needs to me.
      I believe Pro has a slight priority over standard within the Openreach side of things, and that I want to get all I can out of my line, no artificial limit at 40 Mbps. If I get connected at 44.6 Mbps as quoted and it gets slower over time, I can downgrade I suspect after 12 months.
      Last edited by rederick; 17-08-12 at 08:34 PM. Reason: typo
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to rederick For This Useful Post:

      stereohaven (17-08-12)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION