Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Slow throught/High Ping

    This is a discussion on Slow throught/High Ping within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Spitfire I managed to find the number late last night - I forgot to update the thread ...

    1. #11
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,407
      Thanks
      414
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Slow throught/High Ping

      Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
      I managed to find the number late last night - I forgot to update the thread to say id found it

      Ive just phoned them - they won't do anything til DLM has been completed - It takes 10 Days for DLM to do its stuff
      As we know, it only takes a couple of days for DLM to do its stuff on FTTC, but most ISPs prefer to wait 10 days before interacting with BTO.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow throught/High Ping

      ^^

      http://i50.tinypic.com/33x7uz6.png

      my speed tests results so far - from the 11 August (3 Days after my install) the pings shoot up

      If DLM has reduced my line - if i leave the modem plugged in for a few days will it go back to what it was?

    4. #13
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Slow throught/High Ping

      It might if it thinks the line would be stable without interleaving.

    5. #14
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow throught/High Ping

      Quote Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
      ^^

      http://i50.tinypic.com/33x7uz6.png

      my speed tests results so far - from the 11 August (3 Days after my install) the pings shoot up

      If DLM has reduced my line - if i leave the modem plugged in for a few days will it go back to what it was?
      From experience it takes about 2 weeks for DLM to start increasing the sync speed if it's had to reduce the sync speed for any reason.

    6. #15
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow throught/High Ping

      Ive Been away for a week - i got back and was pinging 69 to bbc.co.uk - a router reboot sorted that

      DLM is only running upto the OR Modem isn't it - i can reboot the sky modem as often as i like and it won't upset it ?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Slow throught/High Ping

      Yes, rebooting your router will not effect the DLM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION