Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19
    Like Tree1Likes

    Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

    This is a discussion on Homeplugs + Sky Fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all , I'm due to go live on Fibre on the 8th August I'm currently using a pair of ...

    1. #1
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      Hi all ,

      I'm due to go live on Fibre on the 8th August

      I'm currently using a pair of devolo 500 Mbps homeplugs with my ADSL +2 Service , these are the pair im currently using Click Here

      Would these home plugs work with Sky Fibre ok - Would you use them ?

      Are you currently using Homeplugs with your fibre Service any noticeable issues with them? Speed etc?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      They should be more than adequate. There are some reported issues with the slower HomePlugs, but I don't think anyone has had an issue with the 500mb HomePlugs.

      Please do not use them between the BTO Modem and the Sky router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      They should be more than adequate. There are some reported issues with the slower HomePlugs, but I don't think anyone has had an issue with the 500mb HomePlugs.

      Please do not use them between the BTO Modem and the Sky router.
      Why this ?

      I was going to Wire one Homeplug from my Sky Router to my Main PC witch is located at the back of the house

      Would this be ok ?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      Linking between the Sky router and your TV is fine.

      The link between the BTO Modem and your Sky Router could be hijacked and someone else gain access to the Internet via your BTO Modem. Sure the chances are remote, but why leave an insecure opening?

      What you could also do is to place a Network Switch under the TV and use the connection via the HomePlug to connect to the router, providing you access to Anytime+ and more. If you do not wish to purchase a Network Switch, consider configuring your existing non-Sky router as shown in the guide linked below:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Spitfire's Avatar
      Spitfire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Linking between the Sky router and your TV is fine.

      The link between the BTO Modem and your Sky Router could be hijacked and someone else gain access to the Internet via your BTO Modem. Sure the chances are remote, but why leave an insecure opening?

      What you could also do is to place a Network Switch under the TV and use the connection via the HomePlug to connect to the router, providing you access to Anytime+ and more. If you do not wish to purchase a Network Switch, consider configuring your existing non-Sky router as shown in the guide linked below:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html
      Thanks

      I said PC and not TV

      Thks for replying so quickly

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      aarrrgghhh... I need a break. sorry about that.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      What's the minimum speed homeplug reccomended for use with fibre?




      dog-man

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts
      Some members have complained about the through put on some with Sky Fibre. I believe these were rated at or above 100mbps.

      I would definitely advise against anything less than 100mbps for Fibre. It might be useful if some members could set up a thread with feedback on specific models to provide more a useful idea.

      The issue is related to how was the HomePlugs encrypt the data being sent.

      It may be that HomePlugs are just no good when it comes to the faster speeds and this is something we have to watch.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      What's the minimum speed homeplug reccomended for use with fibre?




      dog-man
      I'm using Solwise AV500 homeplugs and they are OK but be aware that you will not get the full connection speed using them.

      I get around 37Mbps connected directly to the router but via the homeplugs (which sync at about 260Mpbs) I get around 30Mbps, this is due to the on-the-fly encryption/decryption that goes on to secure the connection between them. Also you will get a further reduction in speed the more you have that are in use at the same time because they have no routing capability and what is sent from one plug is received by all the plugs on the network. When my some is gaming online I've seen the throughput drop to as low as 22Mbps to my PC's.

    11. #10
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Homeplugs + Sky Fibre

      I have used both 200 & 500 Devolo Homeplugs. Both are very good and work flawlessly. However, I would recommend getting the 500 ones to take full advantage of fibre speeds and also when streaming HD video round the house. Do not use less than 200 ones as they will cripple your network.
      Last edited by paulkerdot; 05-08-12 at 10:38 AM.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION