Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree1Likes

    Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

    This is a discussion on Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though... within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Naan_H unlocked and QOS off Is QOS set as active within the sky modem then? dog-man...

    1. #11
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Quote Originally Posted by Naan_H View Post
      unlocked and QOS off

      Is QOS set as active within the sky modem then?



      dog-man


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Is QOS set as active within the sky modem then?
      Yes.

      QoS is certainly present on the Sagem 2304n, 2504N and Sky Hub SR101.

      The settings are hidden and cannot be altered.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Yes.

      QoS is certainly present on the Sagem 2304n, 2504N and Sky Hub SR101.

      The settings are hidden and cannot be altered.
      I wonder....

      PHP Code:
      <Layer2Config>?atmVpi=0&amp;atmVci=40&amp;portId=0&amp;connMode=0&amp;linkType=EoA&amp;encapMode=1&amp;atmServiceCategory=UBR&amp;atmPeakCellRate=0&amp;atmSustainedCellRate=0&amp;atmMaxBurstSize=0&amp;enblQos=1&amp;alg=SP</Layer2Config
      PHP Code:
      <Layer2Config>?atmVpi=0&amp;atmVci=38&amp;portId=0&amp;connMode=0&amp;linkType=PPPoA&amp;encapMode=0&amp;atmServiceCategory=UBR&amp;atmPeakCellRate=0&amp;atmSustainedCellRate=0&amp;atmMaxBurstSize=0&amp;enblQos=1&amp;alg=SP</Layer2Config
      PHP Code:
      <X_BROADCOM_COM_ATMEnbQos>TRUE 
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #14
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      So, not within the modem but within the router?


      If so, good job I use my own modem.



      dog-man

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      pmsl - Perhaps it can be disabled then, but I wouldn't recommend it.

      It would be more useful to be able to add specific items to the QoS rules though. Some people may want to change the priorities on some services too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      So, not within the modem but within the router?


      If so, good job I use my own modem.
      It is normal for the router to control the LAN and access to the Internet, not the Modem unless the Modem is combined into the Router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Just checking in case sly have done it differently.


      dog-man

    9. #18
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Is QOS set as active within the sky modem then?

      dog-man
      I turned off QoS from the openreach modem, i did not touch the sky router at all

    10. #19
      Naan_H's Avatar
      Naan_H is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      Well i have just been upgraded


    11. #20
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just ordered Fibre...a few questions though...

      true... i am trying to justify whether to upgrade to pro...

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION