Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

    This is a discussion on Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just got Sky Fibre with the following setup BT Openworld Huawei Model EchoLife HG612 FTTC VDSL NTE & ...

    1. #1
      agentgill's Avatar
      agentgill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      I have just got Sky Fibre with the following setup

      BT Openworld Huawei Model EchoLife HG612 FTTC VDSL NTE & Sky Sagem router

      I want to completely replace the Sky router with my Apple Time machine.

      I can see the following settings when I connect to the Sagem router

      IP Address 94.x.x.xx
      Network Type MER
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.224.0
      Gateway IP Address 94.x.x.x
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99

      I have tried to enter these details in the timemachine, but no joy.

      Please can someone point me in the right direction?
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 25-07-12 at 12:44 PM. Reason: Removed IP address for security reasons


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      I don't think this is possible, you would have to piggy back the timemachine to the Sagem.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      I don't think the TM is capable of connecting using Sky's MER. Can you spoof the MAC with a TM, if so it might be possible to have some sort of connection. If not the best you can do is connect the Apple device through the Sky router.

      Might be worth contacting Apple and asking if they can make firmware available which would allow this. Other manufacturers have done it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't think the TM is capable of connecting using Sky's MER. Can you spoof the MAC with a TM, if so it might be possible to have some sort of connection. If not the best you can do is connect the Apple device through the Sky router.

      Might be worth contacting Apple and asking if they can make firmware available which would allow this. Other manufacturers have done it.
      Sky don't use the LAN MAC address for any sort of authentication, although I guess this could change in the future. All authentication is done using DHCP Option 61 at the moment also the router needs to support "RFC1483 MER".

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      Sky don't use the LAN MAC address for any sort of authentication
      Several members were able to connect using the WAN MAC and inserting the Sky routers IP address. The connection was inconsistent as when the IP address changed it dropped and the new IP address had to be entered to get a connection. The WAN MAC may have been superfluous, I don't really know, as I have never had a MER connection to test it.

      I should add this was with an ADSL connection, I don't know if it has been tested with Fibre.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      you are likely to cause the line to think u have a fault. as you would be losing the connection after 30-40 mins. sky IP least ranges between 30-40 mins, you would then to connect the sky router, get the ip disconnect the sky router and connect your apple router and then repeat again in 1/2 hour

      kinda makes the internet pointless

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      Yes, I agree, but it is strange that one of the complains from many recently, was that they could not get the IP to change. You would think this 'stickyness' would help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      you IP does not changed but the lease has to be renew every 30--40 mins. If it does not get the MER details via DCHP it does not renew the lease and you lose the IP, when you reconnect it will try and give u the same IP as long as no one else is using it

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      you IP does not changed but the lease has to be renew every 30--40 mins.
      That's what I don't understand. The way I thought it worked was that the line was checked every so often and if it was in use the lease was renewed, if it was not in use, the IP address was withdrawn and put back into the address pool. But some members reported keeping the connection for several hours, in some cases days. I don't know if any are still using this method.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Replace Sky router with Apple Time Machine

      that might have been on adsl so can't comment, but on fibre the least is for 40 mins (least on my connection) but renews at 30 mins. If I establish a connection with the router, then disable the ability for it to transmit the MER/DCHP info i will lose IP and the net connection.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION