Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 81
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just replaced sky router = mind blown

    This is a discussion on Just replaced sky router = mind blown within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Iv been having endless issues with the sky supplied router, main one was that there was no QoS on them ...

    1. #1
      Apache14's Avatar
      Apache14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAGOR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 19 Times in 6 Posts

      Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Iv been having endless issues with the sky supplied router, main one was that there was no QoS on them (this caused any device trying to download a file to use up all the available bandwith, making the internet unuseable on other devices). After a while of digging into the issue i decided to replace the router with a TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND and installed dd-wrt. The router is 45 on OCUK and it only took ~20min to set up with dd-wrt, the difference is mind blowing iv seen the following improvements :-


      • Massivly increased wifi speed and range
      • QoS that allows all devices to use the network with bandwith being shared properly
      • Fast router interface (waiting 20sec a page on the sky router is just stupid)
      • Maximum download rate seems to have gone up by ~1MBit/s
      • Optional usb network storage (on the router)
      • The crazy amount of other options that dd-wrt has


      Would anyone would like any other information or even a step by step guide for setting up dd-wrt to work with sky fiber (inc cloning your sky routers WAN address) ?
      Last edited by Apache14; 24-07-12 at 11:53 AM.

    2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Apache14 For This Useful Post:

      garpunkal (27-07-12),gorebrush (25-07-12),hang_check (25-07-12),stepeters (24-07-12),TigerRob (24-07-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Like the sound of QoS

      I used to have Cisco routers but none of them were any good for Fibre. Considering forking out for another, but DD-WRT sounds like fun too.

    5. #3
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router with dd-wrt = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by Apache14 View Post
      Would anyone would like any other information or even a step by step guide for setting up dd-wrt to work with sky fiber (inc cloning your sky routers WAN address) ?
      that would be brilliant, would that include obtaining the necessary log-in details from the 2504?

      i'm also having issues with the sagemcom 2504, and was looking at one of the TP-Links on ebuyer's site which are
      compatible with Fibre / DD-WRT, cheapest shown was about 53

      thanks,

      Ste

    6. #4
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router with dd-wrt = mind blown

      just had to reboot the lot ... again.

      got home and found web pages were loading very slowly and my sons xbox
      wouldn't connect to whatever game server he was trying to play.

      did a quick speedtest and it confirmed that my d/l speed was 0.5Mbps and the
      u/l speed the same... ping had gone awry as well.. 50+ms

      one reboot later and i'm back upto 38Mbps / 9Mbps / 14ms

      hope its the router and not the modem.

    7. #5
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      42.40 for the tp link router on amazon

    8. #6
      Apache14's Avatar
      Apache14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAGOR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 19 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router with dd-wrt = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by stepeters View Post
      just had to reboot the lot ... again.

      got home and found web pages were loading very slowly and my sons xbox
      wouldn't connect to whatever game server he was trying to play.

      did a quick speedtest and it confirmed that my d/l speed was 0.5Mbps and the
      u/l speed the same... ping had gone awry as well.. 50+ms

      one reboot later and i'm back upto 38Mbps / 9Mbps / 14ms

      hope its the router and not the modem.
      Yeah the sky issued units are very bad at resorse management. If you have xboxs, computers, phones and tablets all hammering the router and UPnP enabled software continuasly changing port forwording (xbox does this a lot) you will have to reboot on a daily bases (I did).

      I would recomend the TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND as stated above, below is a link to OCUK who stock this router for 44.99 a very good price and it runs dd-wrt like hot knife through butter.

      http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=NW-024-TP

      You could probably find it a few quid cheaper but iv always had good service from OCUK. Ill make up a step bu step guide before the weekend that includes getting the requierd information off of your sky router, and full setup of dd-wrt on this device (and others)

    9. #7
      Apache14's Avatar
      Apache14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAGOR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 19 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Well all you need from the 2504 is the LAN MAC witch is on the router status page (where you see downlink and uplink speed), and the original wifi key (on the sticker on the router). I will also show how to get the 2504's WAN MAC witch isnt 100% needed, but if sky ever started filtering who they give an IP out to by MAC address it will be needed.

    10. #8
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router with dd-wrt = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by Apache14 View Post
      [SIZE=2]
      Would anyone would like any other information or even a step by step guide for setting up dd-wrt to work with sky fiber (inc cloning your sky routers WAN address) ?
      Yes please

      I've just ordered a NetGear 3800 for 86 from Pixmania ebay store and plan to use it with DD-WRT firmware when I get to switch to Sky fibre in the near future.

      Would love to have a step my step guide to be able to follow when I eventually get my Fibre !!!!!

    11. #9
      hang_check's Avatar
      hang_check is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSCMN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Cheltenham
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router with dd-wrt = mind blown

      Thanks for the info. Any chance you could test Wake Over WAN? Currently I can't telnet in to the Sagem router to add the MAC/IP Address permanently so that the ARP table doesn't lose the info. If you can do this and get it to work I'll be buying one.

      Cheers

    12. #10
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Go on then, I'll bite. I've ordered one.

     

     
    Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION