Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 81
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just replaced sky router = mind blown

    This is a discussion on Just replaced sky router = mind blown within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Apache14 Ahh yeah thats along the lines of what i was thinking was happening All the information ...

    1. #71
      garpunkal's Avatar
      garpunkal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Humax
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by Apache14
      Ahh yeah thats along the lines of what i was thinking was happening All the information vendor class values and the client identifier im using where captured via wire-shark and tcpdump. So its probably your current profile your vdsl2 connection is set to (provided via BT wholesale)
      didn't like the router after purchase, if anyone wants it: TP-Link TL-WR1043ND 300 Mbps 4-Port Gigabit Wireless N Router 6935364090227 | eBay
      Last edited by Scubbie; 29-07-12 at 01:46 PM. Reason: Moved from other thread


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      jas0npc's Avatar
      jas0npc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Quote Originally Posted by garpunkal View Post
      didn't like the router after purchase, if anyone wants it: TP-Link TL-WR1043ND 300 Mbps 4-Port Gigabit Wireless N Router | eBay
      Funny enough I was thinking the same, It does not do a lot differnt for me than the sky router, did you put standard firmware back on
      Last edited by jas0npc; 29-07-12 at 11:24 AM.

    4. #73
      ppc348's Avatar
      ppc348 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207731
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Will this work with Sky Broadband unlimited and a Netgear V2 DG934G router?

      If yes, could you send me your step by step guide

    5. #74
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      The firmware is not for ADSL routers and there are posts and links to the instructions in this very thread.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #75
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by garpunkal View Post
      didn't like the router after purchase, if anyone wants it: TP-Link TL-WR1043ND 300 Mbps 4-Port Gigabit Wireless N Router 6935364090227 | eBay
      If you are within 7 working days of receiving it - why not just restore the factory firmware and send it back to where you bought it from for a full refund?

    7. #76
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      well, i gave up trying to use the 1043 as a router and have now got it configured
      as a wireless access point / gigabit switch.

      disabled the wifi signal from the sagemcom and have everything connecting to the
      internet / LAN through the 1043.

      seems to be working well indeed

    8. #77
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by stepeters View Post
      well, i gave up trying to use the 1043 as a router and have now got it configured
      as a wireless access point / gigabit switch.

      disabled the wifi signal from the sagemcom and have everything connecting to the
      internet / LAN through the 1043.

      seems to be working well indeed
      Why did you stop using it as a router?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #78
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      Why did you stop using it as a router?
      mainly because it appeared to be a less stable than the sagemcom.
      running speed test programs showed it to be more prone to poor ping / jitter
      and varying d/l, u'l speeds.

      i'm still running various tests using the sagemcom, because i'm convinced there's
      an error with my fibre installation, i'm still getting speed problems at certain parts
      of the day which seem to miraculously "cure" themselves after an half hour or so.

      i noticed this morning at around 8.10am that browsing was sluggish, did a check
      and lo and behold, my d/l speed was down to 1.4Mbps, u/l was 0.18Mbps and ping
      was 30ms. at this time, there was no-one else using the connection (still asleep!)

      here's a screen grab of the .csv file generated by jd's auto tool..

      Just replaced sky router = mind blown-netspeed.jpg

    10. #79
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      your right something is not good there. have you contacted sky?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. #80
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      your right something is not good there. have you contacted sky?
      i'm going to ring later today, let jd's auto capture a bit more data so that i can let know exactly how
      bad the connection gets and how often.

      as is always the case with these issues, everything suddenly goes hunky dory when you're on the phone
      and you feel like a bit of a tit

      at the moment, i've taken the WR1043 out of my network completely, so i will be gathering unbiased data
      directly from the 2504n.

     

     
    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION