Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 81
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just replaced sky router = mind blown

    This is a discussion on Just replaced sky router = mind blown within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had 300 Mbps before I switched to this router. Can someone share their settings? What router were you using? ...

    1. #51
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      I had 300 Mbps before I switched to this router. Can someone share their settings?
      What router were you using? You would not get 300mbps with a Sky router, if that is what was being reported, then it was wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      garpunkal's Avatar
      garpunkal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Humax
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      I had a belkin ap connect to my sky router. Got 300mbps... getting about 150mbps now with 20/40 on.

      Help any advice?

    4. #53
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Just trying to do mine but seem to have a problem. When i run the final 2 commands in the window i get the response

      /tmp/udhcpc - not found.

      Am i missing something here? I used the two commands and entered my username and password into the string but it just says not found.

      Is anyone using the newer firmware or the old one linked in the guide?

      Cheers guys

      A

    5. #54
      Bassetts's Avatar
      Bassetts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arnold
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Getting SFU on Wednesday so was looking around here for any tips etc after getting the router delivered today. Ended up buying a new router before we even have fibre thanks to this!

      Quote Originally Posted by andijames View Post
      Just trying to do mine but seem to have a problem. When i run the final 2 commands in the window i get the response

      /tmp/udhcpc - not found.

      Am i missing something here? I used the two commands and entered my username and password into the string but it just says not found.

      Is anyone using the newer firmware or the old one linked in the guide?

      Cheers guys

      A
      Are you sure you entered the two lines exactly? (replace username and password though obviously)

      Code:
      killall udhcpc
      /usr/sbin/udhcpc -i vlan2 -c "username@skydsl|password" -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc
      Last edited by Bassetts; 28-07-12 at 04:13 PM.

    6. #55
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by Bassetts View Post
      Getting SFU on Wednesday so was looking around here for any tips etc after getting the router delivered today. Ended up buying a new router before we even have fibre thanks to this!



      Are you sure you entered the two lines exactly? (replace username and password though obviously)

      Code:
      killall udhcpc
      /usr/sbin/udhcpc -i eth1 -c "username@skydsl|password" -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc
      the code above you need to substitute eth1 for vlan2 and i have a space between killall and /usr/.....: see below

      also, you need to leave the quotations in when entering your username and password

      Code:
      killall udhcpc
      
      /usr/sbin/udhcpc -i vlan2 -c "11ab22dc33ef@skydsl|1A2b3C4de5dbHfs" -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. #56
      Bassetts's Avatar
      Bassetts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arnold
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      the code above you need to substitute eth1 for vlan2 and i have a space between killall and /usr/.....: see below

      also, you need to leave the quotations in when entering your username and password

      Code:
      killall udhcpc
      
      /usr/sbin/udhcpc -i vlan2 -c "username@skydsl|password" -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc
      I don't know if it is actually your username and password, but just in case I thought I should point it out.

      Also you are right, I copied it from the wrong thread. I fixed my previous reply so as not to confuse anyone.

    8. #57
      jas0npc's Avatar
      jas0npc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worcester
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Well after a couple of hours, I have had to swap back to the sky router, WHO would have thought it, I was getting problems with upnp and NAT on my xbox360, My sons xbox360 was fine, my other boys ps3 (x2) fine, my ps3 fine, But i could not get my xbox360 to play ball, everything I tried did not work, now im back on the fast router, both 360`s on at the same time both wired to the router both open nat...

    9. #58
      Apache14's Avatar
      Apache14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAGOR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 19 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Ohh woow i was about to finish off my step by step and put up tonight Ill still put it online including my startup script and how to get the LAN side dhcp working better (DNSMasq seems to work better)
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Apache14 For This Useful Post:

      jas0npc (28-07-12)

    11. #59
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by Apache14 View Post
      Ohh woow i was about to finish off my step by step and put up tonight Ill still put it online including my startup script and how to get the LAN side dhcp working better (DNSMasq seems to work better)

      We will add this as well to the articles section, once posted.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    12. #60
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      ok, for some reason, allocating "fixed" IP addresses via the tp-link dd-wrt doesn't seem to work
      properly. i tested this by putting my laptop's MAC into the list along with an IP of 192.168.1.2
      (i've changed the default starting IP of 192.168.1.100), clicked save / apply etc then used the
      command prompt to run ipconfig / release and ipconfig /renew... each and every time, the laptop
      came back with 192.168.1.15... weird.

      so, looking at my devices, i decided to give my 2 NAS drives fixed IP's from within their own
      configuration pages rather than let the router mess it up.

      so far so good

     

     
    Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION