Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 81
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just replaced sky router = mind blown

    This is a discussion on Just replaced sky router = mind blown within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Something's wrong. After a router reboot it's lost its connection. (trying to assign static ip 's - with no luck) ...

    1. #31
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts
      Something's wrong. After a router reboot it's lost its connection. (trying to assign static ip's - with no luck)

      Time for someone else with more knowledge to jump in
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      how easy was it to connect in terms of putting user name and password in and connecting

    4. #33
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      its working again. this time i put a line break between the killall and /usr/sbin commands

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      how easy was it to connect in terms of putting user name and password in and connecting
      its taken me a while, but once i have put the guide up it can be done in <30mins (once i've figured out why the static ip's aren't saving/working)
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. #34
      garpunkal's Avatar
      garpunkal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Humax
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      its working again. this time i put a line break between the killall and /usr/sbin commands



      its taken me a while, but once i have put the guide up it can be done in <30mins (once i've figured out why the static ip's aren't saving/working)
      What static ip's do you mean? A guide would be fantastic

    6. #35
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      This is how I installed DD-WRT on the TP-Link WR1043ND (from the TP-Link factory firmware)

      ================================================== ============================================
      EDIT: the firmware i used is a couple of months old. garpunkal found a newer version here Other Downloads | www.dd-wrt.com

      FURTHER EDIT: APACHE14 HAS CREATED A MORE COMPREHENSIVE GUIDE http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...-wr1043nd.html
      ================================================== ================================================== ========


      1. get you username and password - Sky Broadband Password Calculator - pH-Mb - you need to input the LAN Mac address and the default wireless key (on the back of your router)

      2. download the DD-WRT firmware - i used this one click me!! (you want factory-to-ddwrt.bin)

      3. use this video to learn how to install DD-WRT (skip to 1m20sec)



      4. once installed change the default username and password (it will prompt you to do this)

      5. click administration then commands and paste the below into the commands shell box. change the username and password to what you extracted earlier and click save start up

      Code:
      killall udhcpc
      
      /usr/sbin/udhcpc -i vlan2 -c "username|password" -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc
      6. reboot and you should be good to go
      Last edited by andrewjr; 28-07-12 at 09:08 PM.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Tractionz (18-02-13)

    8. #36
      garpunkal's Avatar
      garpunkal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Humax
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      This is how I installed DD-WRT on the TP-Link WR1043ND

      1. get you username and password - Sky Broadband Password Calculator - pH-Mb - you need to input the LAN Mac address and the default wireless key (on the back of your router)

      2. download the DD-WRT firmware - i used this one click me!! (you want factory-to-ddwrt.bin)

      3. use this video to learn how to install DD-WRT (skip to 1m20sec)



      4. once installed change the default username and password (it will prompt you to do this)

      5. click administration then commands and paste the below into the commands shell box. change the username and password to what you extracted earlier and click save start up



      6. reboot and you should be good to go

      What made you choose that version rather than newer versions of the DD-WRT firmware

    9. #37
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      Quote Originally Posted by garpunkal View Post
      What made you choose that version rather than newer versions of the DD-WRT firmware
      because its compatible with the version of the router, if there is another newer version that is compatible use that
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #38
      garpunkal's Avatar
      garpunkal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Humax
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Andover
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      this is the newer firmware: Other Downloads | www.dd-wrt.com

      Just wondered if there was a specific reason why you didn't flash this?

      Thanks for helping.

    11. #39
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      didnt see that one. i assume its compatible with v1.8
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    12. #40
      stepeters's Avatar
      stepeters is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just replaced sky router = mind blown

      am i missing something?

      i (seem to) have successfully installed dd-wrt onto the tp-link router and will at some point
      tomorrow connect it up to the bto modem.

      but, where is the option to assign IP addresses to specific hardware? i have a couple of
      NAS drives with movies / tv programs on which i play back through an acer revo running
      xbmclive. it's important that these two drives get the same IP each and every time.

      for such "advanced" firmware, i'm suprised that this simple option has been omitted?

     

     
    Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION