Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25
    Like Tree2Likes

    Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

    This is a discussion on Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys have two questions 1) I have a 3B (in big bold text) model just want to make sure ...

    1. #1
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Hey guys have two questions

      1) I have a 3B (in big bold text) model just want to make sure its not one of the ones that overheat?

      2) I have hacked the software and now have the full software on there. I want to be able to access the admin pages but I need to do it via LAN 1 (as the modem and router are not next to each other and have a long single Ethernet cable to link them) I am hope there some way to create a virtual interface running of lan 1. I can then create a virtual interface running off WAN interface of the DD WRT router and should be able to access it. The I am open to any other suggestions.

      Cheers

      Damien


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      I can answer Q1, I'll let others answer the 2nd question better.

      BTO swapped the faulty Modem with a good version for all affected customers. To the best of my knowledge the version you have is good. BTO stopped supplying the faulty version before Sky Fibre was supplied to Sky customers who were signed up to the trial earlier this year.

      Some staff may have been supplied the faulty Modem, but I would have expected them to have had these replaced by now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Damo did you have any issues with the Hawei HG612 model 3B? I bought one of them off the bay but cannot get it into firmware update mode. I checked it resets by holding the reset button in for 10 seconds whilst it was on, then the power LED flashes once and you can see its rebooted itself.

      However, when I hold the reset button in and plug power in it does nothing even after counting down for 5 seconds as insturcted. Any thoughts on that as am now at a loss as to what to do next. All I want to do is obtain my max attainable stats!! If I could borrow one from somewhere that would be better, shame we dont have access to a loan one!

      Hope this post is OK but if not delete it mods

    5. #4
      wantage will's Avatar
      wantage will is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wantage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Wantage
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Quote Originally Posted by tomthered View Post
      Damo did you have any issues with the Hawei HG612 model 3B? I bought one of them off the bay but cannot get it into firmware update mode. I checked it resets by holding the reset button in for 10 seconds whilst it was on, then the power LED flashes once and you can see its rebooted itself.

      However, when I hold the reset button in and plug power in it does nothing even after counting down for 5 seconds as insturcted. Any thoughts on that as am now at a loss as to what to do next. All I want to do is obtain my max attainable stats!! If I could borrow one from somewhere that would be better, shame we dont have access to a loan one!

      Hope this post is OK but if not delete it mods
      I take it you have this set of instructions. I used these, and it worked. Note no 5, do not release the button yet.
      Best Regards, Will

      1. Power off the modem.
      2. Connect your PC directly to the LAN2 socket (as in Fig. 1)
      3. Configure the ethernet NIC of your PC with IP address 192.168.1.100.
      4. Press the RESET button on the modem and keep it pressed.
      5. Do not release the button yet.
      6. Power on the modem.
      7. Keep the RESET button pressed for a further five seconds.
      8. Use your browser to visit the modem's web address http://192.168.1.1

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to wantage will For This Useful Post:

      Damo82 (13-07-12)

    7. #5
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      that worked for me, however took 3 tries before the admin as username and password did not work the first two times

      Quote Originally Posted by wantage will View Post
      I take it you have this set of instructions. I used these, and it worked. Note no 5, do not release the button yet.
      Best Regards, Will

      1. Power off the modem.
      2. Connect your PC directly to the LAN2 socket (as in Fig. 1)
      3. Configure the ethernet NIC of your PC with IP address 192.168.1.100.
      4. Press the RESET button on the modem and keep it pressed.
      5. Do not release the button yet.
      6. Power on the modem.
      7. Keep the RESET button pressed for a further five seconds.
      8. Use your browser to visit the modem's web address http://192.168.1.1
      wantage will likes this.

    8. #6
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Cannot even get the damn thing to reboot into firmware mode. I follow the instructions no lights go off or go on and I read somewhere the Lan light goed out. My laptop shows that thre is something there as it shows unidentified network but when I try 192.168.1.1. it dont work. The guy off the bay assures me this works on a standard BT fibre line as I have been in touch. I checked it resets as one of the posts on here gave instructions to show reset is working.

      I am tearing my hair out!! Is there any other way of plonking the image on it like you do on a PC. Have loaded images on netgear routers loads of times but this has got me beat. Its definitely an HG612 as the model is underneath!

    9. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Quote Originally Posted by wantage will View Post
      I take it you have this set of instructions. I used these, and it worked. Note no 5, do not release the button yet.
      Best Regards, Will

      1. Power off the modem.
      2. Connect your PC directly to the LAN2 socket (as in Fig. 1)
      3. Configure the ethernet NIC of your PC with IP address 192.168.1.100.
      4. Press the RESET button on the modem and keep it pressed.
      5. Do not release the button yet.
      6. Power on the modem.
      7. Keep the RESET button pressed for a further five seconds.
      8. Use your browser to visit the modem's web address http://192.168.1.1
      these are the instructions that i followed, i had LAN1 unplugged while i was doing this as well.

      when you enter the ip address 192.168.1.100 into your settings are you leaving the subnet mask and default gateway blank as well?

      below is the .pdf document for the hack

      http://huaweihg612hacking.files.word...tions_v1-3.pdf

      edit: also turn off any wireless cards on the pc/laptop you are using to hack the modem
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #8
      wantage will's Avatar
      wantage will is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wantage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Wantage
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      these are the instructions that i followed, i had LAN1 unplugged while i was doing this as well.

      when you enter the ip address 192.168.1.100 into your settings are you leaving the subnet mask and default gateway blank as well?

      below is the .pdf document for the hack

      http://huaweihg612hacking.files.word...tions_v1-3.pdf

      edit: also turn off any wireless cards on the pc/laptop you are using to hack the modem
      when you enter the ip address 192.168.1.100 into your settings are you leaving the subnet mask and default gateway blank as well?

      From what i remember of when i done it, you leave the subnet mask in (think its 255.255.255.0 and also leave the default gateway in (think it's 192.168.1.254)
      Best Regards, Will
      Ps i used a spare netbook i had lying around to do it.

    11. #9
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Thanks for the posts guys. I changed the IP to 192.168.1.100 I made sure the subnet was 255.255.255.0 and left the gateway blank so I assume it defaulted to 192.168.1.254. I expected some lights to stay on for the update firmware but cannot seem to get into the modem via the 192.168.1.1 web page.

      Its frustrating because when its doing a standard reset you see the power light flash off once then the internal lights sort of flicker until they go steady. This is after a 10 second hold. I tried a firmware boot by holding the reset button in for exactly five seconds after I have put the power on, this doesn't seem to do anything.

      I have the wireless connection disable on the laptop and can see the separate ethernet connection so I change that to IP= 192.168.1.100. It appears something is connected via the plan in windows in network connections but double clicking to resolve brings up an error message.

      After all this ---- nothing! Should I be doing anything else? Do any lights actually stay permanent on when its in firmware upgrade mode?

    12. #10
      wantage will's Avatar
      wantage will is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wantage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Wantage
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Hacked FTTC Huawei Echolife HG612 two questions

      Quote Originally Posted by tomthered View Post
      Thanks for the posts guys. I changed the IP to 192.168.1.100 I made sure the subnet was 255.255.255.0 and left the gateway blank so I assume it defaulted to 192.168.1.254. I expected some lights to stay on for the update firmware but cannot seem to get into the modem via the 192.168.1.1 web page.

      Its frustrating because when its doing a standard reset you see the power light flash off once then the internal lights sort of flicker until they go steady. This is after a 10 second hold. I tried a firmware boot by holding the reset button in for exactly five seconds after I have put the power on, this doesn't seem to do anything.

      I have the wireless connection disable on the laptop and can see the separate ethernet connection so I change that to IP= 192.168.1.100.

      After all this ---- nothing! Should I be doing anything else? Do any lights actually stay permanent on when its in firmware upgrade mode?
      Worth a read.
      Problem hacking HG612 modem :: Fibre Broadband :: think broadband

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION