Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Just ordered fibre

    This is a discussion on Just ordered fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My patience paid off, so glad I didn't jump ship. Fibre will be installed on the 27th...

    1. #1
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just ordered fibre

      My patience paid off, so glad I didn't jump ship. Fibre will be installed on the 27th


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      mumble mumble mumble...

      You lucky person.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      kimc's Avatar
      kimc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pontefract
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      Aww sorry Scubbie! I'm like a giddy schoolkid lol

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      *sniff sniff*

      It looks like I'll have to wait until next year at the earliest not. In the last shuffle my exchange was moved to the end of the year. I realise that this means anything from October on, but I can't see them getting it done sooner.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Steele11's Avatar
      Steele11 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      49
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      yeah but like my Exchange: Halfway Fibre is available but not at my area and i on the Halfway but distance is long

    7. #6
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by Steele11 View Post
      yeah but like my Exchange: Halfway Fibre is available but not at my area and i on the Halfway but distance is long

      I work in Hillington Ind Est and while Halfway is fibre enabled there is no fibre available in the estate (its only the biggest industrial estate in Scotland). BT.. idiots


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      I think the problem in Hillington is that many of the bigger organisations there are on Lease Line broadband, which is also true of most of the business parks. The smaller organisations which can't afford this sort of service are stuck with ADSL as BT will not see them as financially viable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      I work in Hillington Ind Est and while Halfway is fibre enabled there is no fibre available in the estate (its only the biggest industrial estate in Scotland). BT.. idiots
      Industrial estates aren't really economically viable as fas a Openreach is concerned. There are plenty of business fibre products available from other companies that have their own infrastructure and most businesses that want a fibre connection will most likely already have one.

      Where I work we have a 2Gbps fibre connection from Global Crossing.

    10. #9
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      Industrial estates aren't really economically viable as fas a Openreach is concerned. There are plenty of business fibre products available from other companies that have their own infrastructure and most businesses that want a fibre connection will most likely already have one.

      Where I work we have a 2Gbps fibre connection from Global Crossing.
      I dont understand how it is not viable. Surely a large percentage of the hundreds of small companies in the estate would take a reasonably priced FTTC service. At the moment I am with BT Business ADSL broadband and have had no end of trouble with it. I am now waiting for Easynet to install a data only ADSL line in for me and BT have let me out of my contract. After lots of negotiation I got Easynet to waive their ridiculous install fee of 300 + vat and also got the monthly cost down. Even at that the cost is 4 x as much as BT but then I would hope the service will be a lot better. It will be uncontended or at max 5:1. Fingers crossed its good.

      Easynet also offered me a leased fibre line but the cost is not even remotely viable for us as a small company. I would love to be able to log in from my fast SKy Fibre service to a fast work fibre service but instead it all lags.

      PS My wife used to work for Global Crossing many years ago. She worked in the Sky Park.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION