Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 42
    Like Tree4Likes

    Bto install problems.

    This is a discussion on Bto install problems. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My brother in law just had bto out to his house after a poor fibre install. They refused to move ...

    1. #1
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Bto install problems.

      My brother in law just had bto out to his house after a poor fibre install. They refused to move his socket closer to his power mains, and used his old ADSL cable to connect the modem up to the socket.

      The first install was completed, but the bto guy left before he connected to his Internet.
      When he finally connected his speed was 1.4 down and 1.7 up. And was syncing at 16300/1999.
      He got back to sky, he had faults on his line so they sent a bto man to sort these problems out.

      BTO said they only move the socket if it's requested by sky so left the set up the same and corrected the fault at the cabinet.
      His sync speed is still 16300/1999 and is now getting 15mbps on speed tests, but was quoted 27/2.

      BTO said after using his plug in machine that his max rate should be 29/6.

      Could his 10m Rj11 cable, be losing so much speed, and would moving his modem closer to the socket, and using a shorter Rj11 cable and a longer ethernet cable be the way forward?

      He wants to try this before he rings sky again in 10 days time.

      Any thoughts are appreciated, thank you.
      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      Could his 10m Rj11 cable, be losing so much speed, and would moving his modem closer to the socket, and using a shorter Rj11 cable and a longer ethernet cable be the way forward?
      It could be, especially if the RJ11 is not a high quality twisted pair type. It should be possible to fit this up temporary even if it mean using a trailing power extension to get the modem closer to the socket. You might not see an immediate improvement in download speed, but you may see an increase in the sync speed. The line may need to be reprofiled to get a speed increase.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Fryingpan77 (03-07-12)

    5. #3
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Thanks for the quick reply.
      I think, like you said in another post to me, that bto are that busy at the moment, they aren't doing these extra little jobs on installs.
      I think the way forward eventually is moving the master socket himself or if he's not confident, getting someone in.
      I made sure he did all the correct procedures, like hard wired speed tests and like I said, the only difference between his set up and mine is the long Rj11 cable.
      I will let him know and report how he gets on.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    6. #4
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      Interesting note about the RJ11 cable. The BT engineer reused the one that was on my ADSL modem. Assume it would make little difference if I swapped it to the one that came with the BTO Modem - it's only an RJ11 cable after all...

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      A cheap long RJ 11 ADSL cable made from 'flat' wires can pick up a lot of interference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #6
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Interesting note about the RJ11 cable. The BT engineer reused the one that was on my ADSL modem. Assume it would make little difference if I swapped it to the one that came with the BTO Modem - it's only an RJ11 cable after all...
      I have always been told the shorter the Rj11 cable the better. Mine was supplied by bto and is 1m.
      What I wasn't sure about was, how much speed they lose over different lengths.
      It will be interesting to see if it makes a difference.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    9. #7
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      Well, I will give it a whirl, though I doubt there will be much difference.

    10. #8
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      Well what do you know!

      Before: - 63315/20000
      Max. Attainable of 73748/22259 SNR 6.1/7.1
      Usenet throughput - 7.10MB/s

      After: - 65341/20000
      Max. Attainable of 77104/22251 SNR 6.3/7.1
      Usenet throughput - 7.35MB/s

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      I wont say I told you so

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bto install problems.

      Winning

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION