Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

    This is a discussion on Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am also finding our tester reading slow and erratic on ADSL at the moment. Usually it is very good....

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      I am also finding our tester reading slow and erratic on ADSL at the moment. Usually it is very good.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      Xbox 360 Slim has Wireless N Super Lite 65mbit max so will do around 25mbit in reality
      All android phones i have used also have 65mbit max So will also do around 25mbit

      54mbit wireless will do around 22mbit max
      Speedtests on my phone are coming out a shade over 30meg but I am not sure how to find out what speed my Xbox is getting.

    4. #13
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      As kn100 has suggested, the best advice is to connect the your Laptop via the Ethernet cable to the router. Try the speed tester which is available on this forum as it doesn't get hammered as much as the speedtest.net site.

      To find out what your WiFi adaptor is you could try looking at the System Properties and see if you can identify which adaptor you have from the Driver screen.

      Look at the WiFi connection status (or Windows Task Manager) too to see what your WiFi connection speed actually is. If you do this within a few metres of the router is should be connecting at the full speed.

      The Sagem 2504N is capable of working at up to 144mbps on a single channel. If you do look for an adaptor then ensure that it is one which supports 300mbps. One which support 150mbps will only work at 72mbps on this router. This is because both 300 and 150mbps are speeds on a paired channel.

      Whilst you may not be happy doing this yourself, it may be possible to change the adaptor inside the Laptop. WiFi N adaptors cost between 10-40 depending which one fits. There are 4 different interfaces that come to mind and I've had an issue with trying to find a card to fit one laptop in the past. A suitable local PC shop should be able to source and fit a replacement card for you. They should be able to replace it in around half an hour in most cases.
      I have wired my laptop to the router and the speedtester on this forum and speedtest.net are both now showing around 37meg so what Sky said sounds to be correct.

      I have an Atheros AR5007EG wireless network adapter which appears to have a max speed of 54Mbit/s and my wireless network status screen shows I am connecting at this speed.

      Most of the 300mbps adapters seem to be ones that plug into the usb port which could be awkward plugging it in and unplugging over and over. Can you get small ones that don't stick out ? How easy is it to fit an adapter internally ?

      I have my router mode set to Auto and security set WPA/WPA2-PSK. Hopefully these settings are ok ?

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Your settings will be fine as you are connected to the router. The default WiFi encryption is WPA/WPA2-PSK.

      As for the adaptor, that should be easy enough to change, provided that you can get access to it. If possible, can you see if it looks like the picture below? You should find that there are two thin wires attached to it. These are the aerials. They simply clip on/off the card.


      Atheros AR5007EG PCI Express Mini Card


      There is a smaller version:


      Atheros AR5007EG Mini PCI Express Mini Card

      The holes are used to screw the card in place so that it doesn't come loose in your Laptop.

      A search in Amazon will quickly find some alternative adaptors. I would suggest something like the Intel 5100 or 6230 but do make sure that they will be compatible with your Laptop.

      Of course only do this if you are happy doing so. There are plenty of local computer repair places that will be able to do this for you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      Scubbie,
      Is the speed tester on here only for Sky Customers??? I just tried it and it gave me 28/9Mb which is less than half of my speed, could this be the problem that people are reporting about their speeds?? I also carried out 1 from where you have used speed.io and I got back 76268 Kbit/s, 16962Kbit/s. Very odd
      iechyd da
      Hi Paul,

      Could i ask for you to redo a speed test from this forum and post the results again please.

      Thank you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      Scubbie,
      Is the speed tester on here only for Sky Customers??? I just tried it and it gave me 28/9Mb which is less than half of my speed, could this be the problem that people are reporting about their speeds?? I also carried out 1 from where you have used speed.io and I got back 76268 Kbit/s, 16962Kbit/s. Very odd
      iechyd da
      This post was reported for me to have a look at.

      I think the reason it was not working is because we had limited the speed to 50 + 10 meg respectively.

      Could you please try again, as I have adjusted the workings of it to 100 + 50 meg respectively. (this should only affect the recording of the results though afaik)
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The Speed Tester on this site should be available to people on all ISPs.

      Perhaps Ged could pick this up and contact the people who run the site if you are only getting 28/9 as your reported speed?
      Yes, the speedtester is open to all ISPs worldwide. The only issue, is if you are on an ISP that we have not added, it would show as an unknown ISP. If it detects your ISP then it is doing what it should be doing.

      Any speeds over the previous limits, afaik just wouldn't have been recorded in the database, as we told it to reject them.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #18
      David76's Avatar
      David76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      firefox and flash do not get along :/

      firefox 13 / flash 11.3.300.262 = erratic speeds here / speedtest.net / BT Beta Test speeds between 10mb - 24mb
      chrome 20 / flash 11.3.300.262 = very accurate here / speedtest.net / BT Beta Test speed are constant 37mb
      IE 9 / flash 11.3.300.262 = very accurate here here / speedtest.net / BT Beta Test are constant 37mb

    10. #19
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post

      As for the adaptor, that should be easy enough to change, provided that you can get access to it. If possible, can you see if it looks like the picture below? You should find that there are two thin wires attached to it. These are the aerials. They simply clip on/off the card.
      It very much depends on the laptop, some have the Bios's locked down to only take that specific wireless cards, I've seen this on a HP probook it's bios would only take certain Wi-FI cards and also they produced the wi-fi cards with a modified Rom so you couldn't just get a generic card with the same chipset.

      Sometimes it's possible to get a hacked bios where someone's hacked out the restriction but this is inherently rather risky as not only are you flashing the bios you'd be replacing it with a Bios that's had little to no QA testing.

      Also on the subject of access it again very much depends on the laptop, had a Dell XPS where it was literally the case of popping the panel off the bottom and had an Acer netbook where I had to pretty much disassemble the whole thing to get at the wi-fi card.

    11. #20
      JamieBee's Avatar
      JamieBee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashford, Kent
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Half speed on speedtests - Sky resolution sound feasible ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Your settings will be fine as you are connected to the router. The default WiFi encryption is WPA/WPA2-PSK.

      As for the adaptor, that should be easy enough to change, provided that you can get access to it. If possible, can you see if it looks like the picture below? You should find that there are two thin wires attached to it. These are the aerials. They simply clip on/off the card.


      Atheros AR5007EG PCI Express Mini Card

      There is a smaller version:


      Atheros AR5007EG Mini PCI Express Mini Card

      The holes are used to screw the card in place so that it doesn't come loose in your Laptop.

      A search in Amazon will quickly find some alternative adaptors. I would suggest something like the Intel 5100 or 6230 but do make sure that they will be compatible with your Laptop.

      Of course only do this if you are happy doing so. There are plenty of local computer repair places that will be able to do this for you.
      It seems that I would have to take my laptop to bits to replace the card which I am not too comfortable with so I have ordered a mini usb adaptor off Amazon. Hopefully I will get somewhere near 40 meg with that.

      Thanks for your help.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION