Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just orderd Pro

    This is a discussion on Just orderd Pro within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My exchange (THBZ) has finally gone live for Sky Fibre, spoke to sky on the phone and ordered Pro as ...

    1. #1
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Just orderd Pro

      My exchange (THBZ) has finally gone live for Sky Fibre, spoke to sky on the phone and ordered Pro as I wanted the extra upload.

      They estimate 62Mbit/s downstream sync but couldn't give me the estimate for the upstream but said most people get close to the full 20Mbit/s

      I'm hoping I'll get a bit more as usually the estimates are quite conservative.

      Interestingly the order confirmation email shows as sky fibre unlimited pro but shows the price and speed estimate for sky fiber unlimited, hopefully it's just a Glitch due to the Pro package being a hidden option though c/s?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Pazza's Avatar
      Pazza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      I ordered Sky Fibre this morning also since it became available yesterday pm. Thats four people I know so far. To get pro what area do you live in Basingstoke? I live in Kempshott and will get c 40Mbps. Still delighted as currently only get 420Kbps download.

    4. #3
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      I live quite near to the exchange anyway but I wanted the extra upload that FTTC gives compared to the ADSL service

      Did you try for Pro?, I would think all the Cabinets will presumably be enabled for it since the interconnect between BT and SKY will be at the exchange and presumably cover all the FTTC cabs.

      Maybe they'll only let you have it if your speed estimate is higher than a certain amount.

      Pro isn't listed on the site you have to specifically ask the fibre team for it.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      Pazza (23-06-12)

    6. #4
      batfin's Avatar
      batfin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      They estimated 67 for mine and I get the full 80/20 so they're very conservative!

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      Please remember folks, as other members have already found, the actual speeds drop as more people are connected to FTTC in your cabinet. This means that whilst the estimate is conservatie, your actual speed will sadly reduce over the coming months.

      P.S. batfin could you update your profile, pretty please

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #6
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Please remember folks, as other members have already found, the actual speeds drop as more people are connected to FTTC in your cabinet. This means that whilst the estimate is conservatie, your actual speed will sadly reduce over the coming months.

      P.S. batfin could you update your profile, pretty please
      Oh dear, so does that mean those of us syncing at a nice 39998kbps could see a reduction in speed in a few months? I for one would not be happy if this is the case having paid for the full 40 meg service.

    9. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by dankargo View Post
      Oh dear, so does that mean those of us syncing at a nice 39998kbps could see a reduction in speed in a few months? I for one would not be happy if this is the case having paid for the full 40 meg service.
      Perhaps, but more likely most will be just fine.

      If you min speed estimate is actually above the 40mb, then there is little danger that your connection speed will drop. Currently the best place to check this is by using the BTO Infinity 2 checker.

      Alternatively I could sneak over and pull the wires out
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #8
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Please remember folks, as other members have already found, the actual speeds drop as more people are connected to FTTC in your cabinet. This means that whilst the estimate is conservatie, your actual speed will sadly reduce over the coming months.

      P.S. batfin could you update your profile, pretty please
      My Cabinet has been in for quite a while, I've been able to order infinity for a least a year probably longer if I had wanted to.

      Also Openreach seem to have pushed my install back a day, Got a text from Sky with the new date and the website and fibre team both seem to think the new date is the correct one. Won't be happy if they turn up on the original date and claim an abortive visit.

    11. #9
      batfin's Avatar
      batfin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Please remember folks, as other members have already found, the actual speeds drop as more people are connected to FTTC in your cabinet. This means that whilst the estimate is conservatie, your actual speed will sadly reduce over the coming months.

      P.S. batfin could you update your profile, pretty please
      Profile updated :-)

      On hacking the BT router is shows over 90 as an attainable rate so they were the guts of 25Mbps out,lol

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to batfin For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (24-06-12)

    13. #10
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Just orderd Pro

      Now on the Hunt for a Wireless AP that can handle the throughput needed for SKY Fibre as lot of my network is wireless.

      Currently have a pair of Airties bridges that can manage about 90Mbit/s between them on 5Ghz but I suspect that would plummet if I added a 3rd one.

      Currently looking at the Triple Stream 802.11N stuff on 5ghz but need them to support Wireless > Wired bridging.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION