Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Can't get another router to work

    This is a discussion on Can't get another router to work within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Damo are you on Sky fibre? If so what settings did you use and which router? PM me if necessary. ...

    1. #11
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      Damo are you on Sky fibre? If so what settings did you use and which router? PM me if necessary.

      Why is it worth having your own router?

      cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      skyiron34's Avatar
      skyiron34 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanishien
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I wonder what that might be
      What else has come up?

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      Quote Originally Posted by skyiron34 View Post
      What else has come up?
      Watch out for News coming soon to the forum.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #14
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      How are you defining 'soon'. Hours, days, weeks?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      Hmmm...

      It won't be available for a little while yet.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #16
      mikebuk's Avatar
      mikebuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      so if this 'unknown' router did exist and came out in the next month or so would it have GB lan?, if it did I would sell the other router i just bought ........

    8. #17
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...r-routers.html

      check out that thread it usefull info on there with a step by step guide ho to do it for dd wrt another good site to chekc is this one MER - PH-Mb Wiki

      I using a buffalo rotuer and it great

      AirStation? Nfiniti? Dual-Band

    9. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      Quote Originally Posted by mikebuk View Post
      so if this 'unknown' router did exist and came out in the next month or so would it have GB lan?, if it did I would sell the other router i just bought ........
      Don't look to sell the router you have just bought.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #19
      mikebuk's Avatar
      mikebuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01362
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      thank you!

    11. #20
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Can't get another router to work

      Quote Originally Posted by mikebuk View Post
      I have Sky Fibre and the 'wonderful' Sagem 2504N supplied with it, I bought an Asus N56U to allow me to plug the sky router to that and then let then Asus work as a switch and the wireless connection.

      I followed the guide, turned off DCHP server on the ASSU, gave it a distinct IP address as well, but it just will not see the internet?

      Any idea's? , I assume I plug the Sagem ethernet cable into the WAN cable on the ASUS?, I hope so or I'd lose one of the 4 gigabit ports I need.

      It's because you plugged the SKY router into the WAN port, the DHCP requests from the sky router won't be passed through the ASUS, you will need to use one of the LAN ports on the Asus.

      Unless it has an option to join the WAN port to the LAN, some routers do but it's usually added by 3rd party firmware (DD-WRT.etc) so i wouldn't be at all surprised if it didn't

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION