Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 78
    Like Tree12Likes

    Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

    This is a discussion on Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes I have done several times. But that was when I had a TV licence. Which was before I got ...

    1. #51
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Yes I have done several times. But that was when I had a TV licence. Which was before I got fibre. Not watched TV since!

      NO need to be sarky, ain't my fault you are wrong is it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      I've had this arguement a million times and I won't again

      You do NOT need a TV license unless you want live TV or use tvcatchup which is nearly live. If someone chooses to watch the live stream on Iplayer and let them catch an IP address that's their fault.

      Oneday everyone will realise they may not need a TV license and check it out. But I have been approved and the law is clear on this one.
      At no point in your original post did you say you didn't watch live tv. You said you watched iplayer and if you use iplayer to watch live then you need a license. You never mentioned you didn't watch live.

    4. #53
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      You learn something new every day. I never knew that. I'm off to take my tv aerial and satellite dish down

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #54
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      At no point in your original post did you say you didn't watch live tv. You said you watched iplayer and if you use iplayer to watch live then you need a license. You never mentioned you didn't watch live.
      Well if that was your assumption then fair enough.

    6. #55
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      You learn something new every day. I never knew that. I'm off to take my tv aerial and satellite dish down

      Sent from my ST18i
      LOL - using sky anytime doesn't need a license - I have never used it but if you have to download stuff to watch you don't need a license.

    7. #56
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      Yes I have done several times. But that was when I had a TV licence. Which was before I got fibre. Not watched TV since!

      NO need to be sarky, ain't my fault you are wrong is it.
      It wasn't sarcastic, a statement. I couldn't not watch live tv. Simple as. Whilst I watch a lot on delay there are just some things that I would have to watch live. If you can watch live events on delay then that's impressive.

    8. #57
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      I just see no point paying 24 a month for 6 months and then 12 a month after that just because I own a TV which is not used to watch TV. It does not even have working receiving gear. I removed it. It's basically a 40" monitor now.

    9. #58
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      It wasn't sarcastic, a statement. I couldn't not watch live tv. Simple as. Whilst I watch a lot on delay there are just some things that I would have to watch live. If you can watch live events on delay then that's impressive.
      Yes I can.. for example..

      I waited till the day after to watch Wrestlemania 28. It was 15 on Sky but I simply waited till the next day when it was free.

      If you mean football? I would rather staple my head to the desk than watch that rubbish.

      Apart from that I can't think of anything else live i'd want to watch..

    10. #59
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      LOL - using sky anytime doesn't need a license - I have never used it but if you have to download stuff to watch you don't need a license.
      I'm back off to put my satellite dish back up

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    11. #60
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      I'm back off to put my satellite dish back up

      Sent from my ST18i
      haha

      Didn't think you needed it? dosent anytime+ come down the net via the box?

     

     
    Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION