Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 78
    Like Tree12Likes

    Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

    This is a discussion on Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Also wanted to add that I get your point on the TV. I don't have a TV licence and I ...

    1. #41
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Also wanted to add that I get your point on the TV. I don't have a TV licence and I don't watch much TV. I do watch some BBC programs but that's on Iplayer.

      In this day and age with everything on demand I don't need to. I do have a big TV so I can watch it all on but You don't need a license to own a TV. My house has no ariel and no |TV sockets so TVL were fine when they came round to check.

      I've never been a big fan of Series stuff but since I got Netflix and as I have plenty of time I have chewed through the whole box set of Greys Anatomy, 24, house and a few others - some of them are 200 episodes!

      Well worth the 5,99 a month Netflix charge (oh and the 99p a month I pay for smart DNS)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Who is your "smart" DNS provider?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #43
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Who is your "smart" DNS provider?
      I use unblock us. It works out at 3.20 a month. I can't beat 99p though. That's great value.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #44
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Who is your "smart" DNS provider?

      I have mates who run acevpn so i get it from them. Their VPN is about 4 a month and you get it included.

      But I just pay for the smart DNS bit

    6. #45
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      I use unblock us. It works out at 3.20 a month. I can't beat 99p though. That's great value.

      Sent from my ST18i
      Yeah I used them too for a long time. I'd recommend them for an out of the box solution too! NO need to install the software either

    7. #46
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Sorry - anyway the point of my posting in this thread is that when I get Sky I will also cain it to the tune of about 1TB a month. So I can beat my 7mbps record of 812GB.

    8. #47
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      Also wanted to add that I get your point on the TV. I don't have a TV licence and I don't watch much TV. I do watch some BBC programs but that's on Iplayer.

      In this day and age with everything on demand I don't need to. I do have a big TV so I can watch it all on but You don't need a license to own a TV. My house has no ariel and no |TV sockets so TVL were fine when they came round to check.

      I've never been a big fan of Series stuff but since I got Netflix and as I have plenty of time I have chewed through the whole box set of Greys Anatomy, 24, house and a few others - some of them are 200 episodes!

      Well worth the 5,99 a month Netflix charge (oh and the 99p a month I pay for smart DNS)
      Well if you watch iplayer then you need a licence even if you don't have an aerial or tv sockets.


      TV Licensing - Check if you need a TV Licence

      Did the tvl people ask you about that?

    9. #48
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Well if you watch iplayer then you need a licence even if you don't have an aerial or tv sockets.


      TV Licensing - Check if you need a TV Licence

      Did the tvl people ask you about that?
      Yes they did.. They had a nice Detector van too which they came in. They were sweeping the area but also calling on me.

      "You need to be covered by a licence if you watch TV online at the same time as it's being broadcast on conventional TV in the UK or the Channel Islands"

      I don't watch it live. I wait till it's done. Catchup is allowed.

      When do I need a licence?

      Under the current legislation, you need a licence if you:


      • Watch or record live (or nearly live) television programmes.

      This is the only situation in which you need a television licence (although note that, if you are over 75, a licence is available at no charge).
      A television licence is required no matter what kind of device is used - television sets, DVD players or recorders, set-top boxes, computers, or even mobile phones.
      When do I not need a licence?

      You do not need a licence to:


      • Own a television set.
      • Use a television with a video console.
      • Use a television with a computer.
      • Use a television to listen to the radio (e.g., via a digibox).
      • Use a television to watch DVDs, videos, or pre-recorded programmes.
      • Use a television to watch internet video (e.g., YouTube).
      • Use a television to watch TV programmes that are not being transmitted live (e.g., iPlayer).

      Owning a device that is capable of receiving live television does not require you to purchase a television licence.
      A television licence is only required if you actually use that device to receive live television. If you do not receive live television, you do not need a licence.

      Even though it would be easy with a VPN to watch the live stream I don't bother. I tend to have a bath, make something nice to eat and then sit down and watch it all on catchup.

      NO licence required.

    10. #49
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      I've had this arguement a million times and I won't again

      You do NOT need a TV license unless you want live TV or use tvcatchup which is nearly live. If someone chooses to watch the live stream on Iplayer and let them catch an IP address that's their fault.

      Oneday everyone will realise they may not need a TV license and check it out. But I have been approved and the law is clear on this one.

    11. #50
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Wow, you've never watched a tv program live. That's impressive.

     

     
    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION