Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 78
    Like Tree12Likes

    Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

    This is a discussion on Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I came from BE with a 12mb connection so it was always fairly reasonable anyway. With that being truely unlimited ...

    1. #21
      thebatfink's Avatar
      thebatfink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      I came from BE with a 12mb connection so it was always fairly reasonable anyway. With that being truely unlimited I never worried about constantly downloading and I take the same attitude with my new fibre. If I want to download something wether its 100mb or 60gb, I just download it at full speed I don't download for downloads sake or probably download more than I used too.. its just nice to get it quicker.

      One of the great things I do do alot more of now is remote connecting to my machines from work etc. i also use FTP far more. Especially for things like hosting offsite storage for my parents photo collections etc. the extra upload is helping for that. Upgraded yesterday to Pro so I expect to be doing more and more different things.

      If I had 2TB hdd's coming out my ears then I might utilise it more. But overall usage is probably same, but then it was heavy usage before (I suspect BT wouldn't like me!)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by David76 View Post
      use thundernews, get fullspeed on my 40mb at all times... think gorebrush maxs his fibre pro on newsgroups
      I'm with Newsdemon and max it 7.3MB/s all day long

    4. #23
      hughandsam's Avatar
      hughandsam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAHSD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Halstead, Essex
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      If my sums are right, then gorebrush is using between 4.4TB (if connection fully utilised between 9-5/weekdays) and 18TB (if connection fully utilized 24/7)!!

    5. #24
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Yep, I came up with 18-19TB a month too.

      My server only has 2TB in it though, so I'm kinda limited that way. Reminds me, I need to RMA a 2TB disk actually My RAID-5 array got broken up and I ended up with 2x2TB in RAID-1 instead.

      Need to get a replacement. Might go back to RAID-5 for 4TB goodness though...

      EDIT: I don't actually use my connection 24/7 like that - I meant that I can get 7.3MB/s no matter what time of day (irrespective of congestion)

    6. #25
      hughandsam's Avatar
      hughandsam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAHSD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      Halstead, Essex
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      I did wonder - 18TB is enough space for 700-1000 uncompressed blu-ray rips...

    7. #26
      s1ndr0me's Avatar
      s1ndr0me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWPEU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      @gorebrush - if your RAID is a software linux job. then you'll need to run a cron job to keep your disks in order. What kills the raid is un-reported bad blocks/sectors. then when a disk fails and it tries to rebuild its self on a fresh disk it finds the problems that were swept under the carpet and all of a sudden the RAID is fubar

      echo check >> /sys/block/mdX/md/sync_action

      watch -n 0.5 cat /proc/mdstat

      change the X to MD0 or whatever your array is

    8. #27
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Thanks for the tip!

      My RAID5 ran fine for ages... what killed it was the disk completely died

      I was planning to break the array up anyway, so I was able to get all the data off.

    9. #28
      s1ndr0me's Avatar
      s1ndr0me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWPEU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      No worries, we ran a freenas for a bit. Built up our collection only for the whole ZFS to go **** up. Ended rebuilding using linux instead of freenas as any problems are better documented. FreeBSD is a bit of a mare. I kinda want the NAS to break now just so we can download the lot again, really fast

    10. #29
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      I love the idea of ZFS. I tried setting it up and I actually got a FreeBSD VM running serving up a ZFS array, and I installed another VM onto it, but it was far too over complicated for what I needed!

    11. #30
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Are you Caning Your Sky Fibre Connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Yep, I came up with 18-19TB a month too.

      My server only has 2TB in it though, so I'm kinda limited that way. Reminds me, I need to RMA a 2TB disk actually My RAID-5 array got broken up and I ended up with 2x2TB in RAID-1 instead.

      Need to get a replacement. Might go back to RAID-5 for 4TB goodness though...

      EDIT: I don't actually use my connection 24/7 like that - I meant that I can get 7.3MB/s no matter what time of day (irrespective of congestion)
      18TB a month, what the hell are you downloading?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION