Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've had my Apple TV 2 for around six months now, and prior to my fibre installation everything was ...

    1. #1
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      Hi,

      I've had my Apple TV 2 for around six months now, and prior to my fibre installation everything was working fine, it'd connect to the BB router and then go online without any problems (It'd also connect to the Buffalo router I've since bricked, but that's another story!). Since my fibre installation, while it'll still connect to the new router it has all sorts of problems getting online, saying there's no connection to iTunes for instance, or Netflix etc (This was also the case with the Buffalo router). It's not a signal strength problem, that's showing up 5 bars on the Apple TV.

      Has anyone else encountered the same problem? Would I need to open NAT on the router for instance (Lord only knows how I'd do that for the Apple TV). Any clues as to how I can fix it? Is it even related to the fibre? I've TRIED updating the firmware on the Apple TV, but again, router related, the last time I tried it gave me an approximate time of 28 hours to download the firmware then just gave up.

      Thanks guys.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      Just done a very quick google search and found this. It may help

      Apple TV: TCP and UDP ports and protocols used
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    4. #3
      SAFC2403's Avatar
      SAFC2403 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      I got fibre installed yesterday and my apple tv 2 is working fine. Mine is connected via a cable mind and it connected last night with no issues.

      Can you connect it via cable and see if the problem persists? Do you have anything that could be interfering with the wifi signal?? Do other wifi connected devices have issues connecting??

    5. #4
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      Thanks for that link, but you're not taking into account the fact that I'm a total idiot!

    6. #5
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      It's a bit of a minefield under the TV.. The 360 it's sitting on top of works fine, the PS3 it's sitting next to works fine, admittedly the Sky Anytime+ wireless box it's sitting directly on top of sometimes has problems connecting to the router. It's a nightmare!

    7. #6
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      Do you have the ability to run 1 Ethernet cable from the sky router to your entertainment unit? If so you could purchase a 5 or 8 port switch and connect everything via Ethernet cable.

      Running a Ethernet cable is viable another option is home plugs.

      My thread here will help with opening ports should you need to.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/gamin...xbox-live.html
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    8. #7
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      Not really an option as the router is in the upstairs back bedroom and everything else is in the front living room, not ideal I know!

      Thanks for that link though, I know it helped opening the NAT up for the 360, just wondering how I can relate that to the Apple TV..

    9. #8
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      I don't own an apple tv but you can still assign it a static ip address from within the router just find its mac address and follow the steps in guide.

      Edit: UPnP should be opening the necessary ports for you. Also have you used inssider to check the wireless channels in your area. Pick an empty one
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    10. #9
      Lino's Avatar
      Lino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      I'll certainly give that a shot when I get home! What's the worst that could happen, it'd be impossible for me to brick TWO routers.. Right?

    11. #10
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre and Apple TV 2 problems?

      I doubt you could brick the router by opening ports. Take a backup of you config before you start anyway
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION