Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 42
    Like Tree7Likes

    Thought it was too good to last

    This is a discussion on Thought it was too good to last within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Humour me here, OP what did sky actually quote you on the letter or when you took SFU ?? I ...

    1. #11
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      Humour me here, OP what did sky actually quote you on the letter or when you took SFU??


      I was quoted 34.5mb but on install got the full 39997/1999 and speed test in my sig below.

      my ping then went from 9ms to bbc to 18ms to bbc and since my sync has gone up and down from 39997 to as low as 36216 its now currently 38812 or something like that.

      my point is what ever sky quoted you initially is more likely what it will settle at.
      Last edited by Angel_Rex; 13-06-12 at 01:45 PM.
      Fryingpan77 likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      That's very true. I forgot to ask that question. My quoted speed was 35.5mbps, so to still hold out at 39996kbps I should count myself lucky. I don't think the uptake of Fibre in my area is very big at the moment so when the cabinet gets closer to capacity, I should imagine it will be closer to my original quote. The ping rate increase wasn't massive on my line, only 8ms but me being me, nothing is ever good enough
      Not seen a drop off in my gaming performance (I'm still rubbish )
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      With sky since 1997.

    4. #13
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      I was quoted 53 and get 65 (for now...........)

      Hoping it'll stay that way!

    5. #14
      David76's Avatar
      David76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      Are you sure you have looked at the first post and compared my 2 speed tests, the bottom one being from when it was installed.
      yep, first test 37mb, second test 32mb.

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      How can you say that when your Speedtest.net result contradicts what you have just said
      as my speedtest only show one speedtest, rather than a few with the same results. where the contradiction? speedtest is erratic... an example!

      how can i download at 45mb on a upto 40mb? use speedtest lol..


      another bad result for speedtest... seconds after the one above

      [/QUOTE]

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      I can only state what was reported when downloading from Usenet, I'm sure gorebrush had around the same speeds aswell, the point is my speed has dropped by 5 meg and my ping results are suddenly a lot higher than a week ago, so something is not right somewhere.
      Pete.
      what i was subtly asking was how can you download at 45+ megabits, on a upto 40 megabits product... by suggesting 38 / 39 was about right for 39999 sync and that using speedtest as a troubleshooting tool is not recomended, as you will loss sleep over it

    6. #15
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      bbc iplayer must be getting hammered at the moment as well as the speedtests there are giving pants results now. Must be the footy.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    7. #16
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Humour me here, OP what did sky actually quote you on the letter or when you took SFU??
      I was quoted 40/2, which is what it has been syncing at 39999/1999 steady for the last 9 weeks since it was installed according to the Sky router stats.


      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      I was quoted 34.5mb but on install got the full 39997/1999 and speed test in my sig below.

      my ping then went from 9ms to bbc to 18ms to bbc and since my sync has gone up and down from 39997 to as low as 36216 its now currently 38812 or something like that.

      my point is what ever sky quoted you initially is more likely what it will settle at.
      I hope it does correct itself, but how long do you wait, what caused the drop in the first place ? How would I know if DLM is active on the line at the moment ? These are some of the things that I would like to be able to find out.

      Thanks.

      Pete.

    8. #17
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      Quote Originally Posted by odds View Post
      I was quoted 40/2, which is what it has been syncing at 39999/1999 steady for the last 9 weeks since it was installed according to the Sky router stats.

      I hope it does correct itself, but how long do you wait, what caused the drop in the first place ? How would I know if DLM is active on the line at the moment ? These are some of the things that I would like to be able to find out.

      Thanks.

      Pete.
      From my understanding, DLM is running constantly at the Fibre cabinet. It adjusts your line, correcting any faults, which may lead to speed drops if your line can't handle the speed your getting. If it continues I would get in contact with sky as this sounds like you may have a problem. Did you manage to install the JD speed tester in one of my previous posts. If you leave it running maybe, over night you can get a better idea if your line is suffering from lots of jitter, or maybe packet loss.
      Last edited by Fryingpan77; 13-06-12 at 05:10 PM.
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      With sky since 1997.

    9. #18
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      im 1.12km as the crow flies from my exchange.

      from my cabinet, the actual line length is around 800 meters.

      I was quoted 34.5mb which is based on the distance i believe.

      I was the first sky fibre on my cabinet but others were on BT fibre.

      On install i had 39997/1999 and 9ms ping to bbc.co.uk

      after 1 week my ping went to 17-18ms to bbc & the router sync stayed the same.

      after 3-4 weeks (End may) I noticed my SNR was getting really low (went down to 1.4db) so i rebooted the router and it synced at 37mb odd.

      I called sky as I has crackling on my line so they sent an engineer out. he identified a fault at my cabinet & line and fixed it.

      since the line was fixed the modem has synced at 36059 up to 39219 but never again at 39997.

      i am now synced at 38815/1999
      speed test off my laptop (wireless) the wired normally hits 37mb




      the wired connection also normally hits 18ms ping.

      I have recently moved my router and stuck the bt modem on the wall so its not as easy to check my snr but i will do later.

      I've yet to see DLM fix my line after the fault was caused but i suspect it wont ever go back.

      Hope that helps.
      Fryingpan77 likes this.

    10. #19
      odds's Avatar
      odds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Q Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      Did you manage to install the JD speed tester in one of my previous posts. If you leave it running maybe, over night you can get a better idea if your line is suffering from lots of jitter, or maybe packet loss.
      Yes I have it running and will let it continue overnight and see what happens.

      @Angel_Rex, I pressume you have hacked your BT Modem to be able to check your SNR stats, where did you get your Firmware from if I may ask. I remember seeing a tutorial on how to do it but can't find it now.

      Thanks

      Pete.

    11. #20
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Thought it was too good to last

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      im 1.12km as the crow flies from my exchange.

      from my cabinet, the actual line length is around 800 meters.

      I was quoted 34.5mb which is based on the distance i believe.

      I was the first sky fibre on my cabinet but others were on BT fibre.

      On install i had 39997/1999 and 9ms ping to bbc.co.uk

      after 1 week my ping went to 17-18ms to bbc & the router sync stayed the same.

      after 3-4 weeks (End may) I noticed my SNR was getting really low (went down to 1.4db) so i rebooted the router and it synced at 37mb odd.

      I called sky as I has crackling on my line so they sent an engineer out. he identified a fault at my cabinet & line and fixed it.

      since the line was fixed the modem has synced at 36059 up to 39219 but never again at 39997.

      i am now synced at 38815/1999
      speed test off my laptop (wireless) the wired normally hits 37mb




      the wired connection also normally hits 18ms ping.

      I have recently moved my router and stuck the bt modem on the wall so its not as easy to check my snr but i will do later.

      I've yet to see DLM fix my line after the fault was caused but i suspect it wont ever go back.

      Hope that helps.
      angel dont trust speedtest.net or pingtest.net for you ping times. try a command prompt or install JD Auto Speedtester
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION