Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28
    Like Tree1Likes

    Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

    This is a discussion on Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just ordered Fibre Optic and tracked the order. On the page is says an engineer will be coming out on ...

    1. #1
      vandal's Avatar
      vandal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      Just ordered Fibre Optic and tracked the order. On the page is says an engineer will be coming out on the date I'm supposed to get the service. I never asked for that and there was no mention in the ordering. Is this actually not true or does it mean he'll be at the exchange to turn it on?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
      For Fibre installs the engineer needs to visit your home, change your faceplate, and connect up your fibre modem (which he will bring).
      Sent from my TITAN X310e using Board Express
      Angel_Rex likes this.

    4. #3
      vandal's Avatar
      vandal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      Oh right, I thought it was self-install. I take it this is free as part of the package? I've scanned over mysky and can't find any mention of a charge for this? Cheers.
      Last edited by vandal; 26-05-12 at 06:12 PM.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      It is mixed.

      The BTO Engineer will sort out the line, telephone socket, filtered faceplate and BTO Modem. He'll bring all the required items for this with him.

      Sky will dispatch a router (Sagem 2504N for SFU) which you will be asked to connect to the BTO Modem yourself.

      For an additional 15 (I think this is the current price) the BTO Engineer or a Sky Engineer can connect the router to the Modem for you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It is mixed.

      The BTO Engineer will sort out the line, telephone socket, filtered faceplate and BTO Modem. He'll bring all the required items for this with him.

      Sky will dispatch a router (Sagem 2504N for SFU) which you will be asked to connect to the BTO Modem yourself.

      For an additional 15 (I think this is the current price) the BTO Engineer or a Sky Engineer can connect the router to the Modem for you.
      But worth just re-iterating, the connecting of the modem and faceplate by the engineer is free...you just have to link it to your fibre router. So as it stands, you will be charged no extra

    7. #6
      vandal's Avatar
      vandal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      Great thanks. I can do the router part myself no problem.

      One more question, can I use my G WIFI adapters with the new N router? If I can, will it be at reduced performance than if I had an N adapter?

      Thanks for the help.

    8. #7
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      isnt it nice that some BTO engineers, do even help with the sky router, even tho you dont pay for it...mine helped out a little with the sky router...

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      Quote Originally Posted by vandal View Post
      Great thanks. I can do the router part myself no problem.
      Nice.

      Quote Originally Posted by vandal View Post
      One more question, can I use my G WIFI adapters with the new N router? If I can, will it be at reduced performance than if I had an N adapter?
      Yes. WiFi n has to be backwards compatible with WiFi g. However if you should ever wish to get a new adaptor then look for a WiFi n adaptor that supports 300mbps or greater.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts
      The engineer will also visit your pcp cab and jumper your line to the BTO dslam cab
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. #10
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Just ordered fibre, order says engineer is coming?

      Does a new faceplate with filter have to be fitted even if I already have one?

      Or is this faceplate specifically for fibre?

      Where does the modem go?

      My situation is......

      BT box with self installed ADSL V1.0 faceplate in living room. A cable runs from that through a wall into my hobby room, and plugs straight into my Netgear DG834PN router.

      My exchange will have fibre from June 30th, so looking forward to it.



      dog-man

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION