Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

    This is a discussion on Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everybody Yesterday I noticed that my ping times had increased by 8ms Command prompt to BBC was at 16ms, ...

    1. #1
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      Hi everybody
      Yesterday I noticed that my ping times had increased by 8ms
      Command prompt to BBC was at 16ms, now it's 24ms. Also tried Google and other web addresses, all show an increase.
      I don't feel confident about hacking the modem so can't give you any stats, but wondered if anybody else has experienced this recently, or in the past.
      It has been rock solid since install on the 27th of April.

      should I be worried or is it a case of DLM kicking in at the cabinet.

      Any input welcome, Thank you.
      Last edited by Fryingpan77; 26-05-12 at 07:10 AM.
      With sky since 1997.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      BTO's DLM is present 24/7. Is there any noise on your telephone line? Could you check by plugging a corded phone into the Master Socket, dialling '1' and listening for any noise (i.e. loud hiss or crackling).

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Fryingpan77 (26-05-12)

    5. #3
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      Same thing happened to me around a week after having the fibre installed. I had a fault on my line which has now been fixed, im on the 9th day of constant sync.

      My SNR is currently 3.6db and my ping has not lowered back down to 9ms I had. No major just hoped it would....

    6. #4
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      BTO's DLM is present 24/7. Is there any noise on your telephone line? Could you check by plugging a corded phone into the Master Socket, dialling '1' and listening for any noise (i.e. loud hiss or crackling).
      Checked the line for noise. It's crystal clear. Have noticed my sync speed has changed slightly.
      It was 39999/1997
      Now it's 39996/1999
      We had a power cut last night for 30 minutes.
      Could this have an effect ?
      Speeds still great and not having any other problems. Just hoping it's not a sign of things to come.
      Don't want any more drop off in ping rate as I play online games and now it's not much better than when I was on gamer profile with ADSL.
      With sky since 1997.

    7. #5
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      Same here Mine went to 39997 when i had it installed in March it is now 39277 although my ping is 17-19ms to bbc.co.uk (it was 8-9ms to bbc.co.uk)

      Although on gamer profile I was 32ms so still a massive achievement for me

      I'm hoping after 15 days it see's my line fault is fixed and syncs back up. My max att is 45.5mb down & 7.5 up so there is no reason why i shouldnt be at 39999.

      after the initial dropmy ping didnt increase any more. just be careful not to keep rebooting router.

    8. #6
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Same here Mine went to 39997 when i had it installed in March it is now 39277 although my ping is 17-19ms to bbc.co.uk (it was 8-9ms to bbc.co.uk)

      Although on gamer profile I was 32ms so still a massive achievement for me

      I'm hoping after 15 days it see's my line fault is fixed and syncs back up. My max att is 45.5mb down & 7.5 up so there is no reason why i shouldnt be at 39999.

      after the initial dropmy ping didnt increase any more. just be careful not to keep rebooting router.
      Cheers for the info.
      What was the original fault on your line and how did they correct it ?
      With sky since 1997.

    9. #7
      vwbottom's Avatar
      vwbottom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Ealing
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      I've had similar problems, after two BTO visits my issues are still present. Ping was 10ms, No packet loss, no jitter modem synced at 24000, over 9 days ping went to 18ms, no packet loss, no jitter synced at 19000, im so fed up of ringing sky, having time off to get this sorted, coupled with the the fact that no body knows whats wrong. My line apparently has a fault, yet the phone line isn't noisy , i have no packet loss, no jitter and was stable, yet DLM kicked it into realms of ADSL2 speeds..... MEH!

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to vwbottom For This Useful Post:

      Fryingpan77 (26-05-12)

    11. #8
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Higher ping on Sky fibre unlimited.

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      Cheers for the info.
      What was the original fault on your line and how did they correct it ?
      I had noise on my line although it wasnt REALLY bad it was just more annoying.

      had a BT phone engineer come out identified a problem at the cabinet my line on one side was 'loose' meaning there wasnt a solid connection & it kept causing arching spikes - wrong wire apparently.... to thin.... anyhoo, correct wire put back in and noise is now 95% gone.

      Ive left the router up now for some time but still no change

      Im happy with sky and 17ms doesnt overly bother me its just a niggle, you know?

      I know for sure though if sky do not increase the upload by this time next year at no extra charge ill seriously consider bt

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Angel_Rex For This Useful Post:

      Fryingpan77 (26-05-12)

    13. #9
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Its something I will be keeping a close eye on then over the next week or so. Ping isn't a deal breaker but your right when you say its annoying. Upload speed doesnt bother me so much but i can fully understand people who would benifit from it, getting frustrated when its just there waiting to be used. The one thing I wouldn't tolerate is a massive drop in sync. If that happened to me I would be very anoyed. Hope everybody's line gets sorted. I will update if I see any changes to my line.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    14. #10
      flamey's Avatar
      flamey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EACOL
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
      The openreach DLM is in many cases very slow to make changes after a fault or such sometimes requiring 14-30days continuous sync to the cab as others have reported over on places like plusnet. In some cases it never recovers and will need a engineer out to call in the dlm reset.

      I know from experience that it doesn't work particularly well with my experience on 80/20. I was getting a few errors at 76mb sync so instead of dropping sync slightly or adding interleave it simply chopped off 10mb sync AND applied interleave. Poor implementation if you ask me....

    15. The Following User Says Thank You to flamey For This Useful Post:

      Fryingpan77 (27-05-12)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION